New Authors     New Books     Coming Soon     Most Popular     Top Authors    
<< Previous bookNext book >>
book cover of 

Soap Bubbles

Soap Bubbles

A novel by


"Vivid characters carry a star-dusted mystery thriller along at a breathless pace."
Lillian Stewart Carl

SOAP BUBBLES cannot be pigeon-holed into one genre, nor should it be. It's an array of mystery, romance, and legal drama. Often funny, sometimes shocking, Soap Bubbles depicts the glitzy microcosm of TV's daytime drama, where rampant sexuality vies with an almost obscene lust for influence and power. Set during the 60s, 70s and 80s, a whole generation springs to life in this brash, voguish classic by the author of Fifty Cents For Your Soul.

In the tradition of Judith Krantz and Jacqueline Susann, Denise Dietz recounts the tempestuous lives and careers of three ugly ducklings - Delly Diamond, Anissa Cartier and Maryl Bradley. Concealing childhood scars, each duckling-turned-swan learns how to make love, make money, and make believe. Each hopes that the soap opera, Morning Star, will afford an opportunity for the future. Instead, a studio fire and the resultant death of the soap's reviled producer leads to a shattering confrontation with the past, as the book races toward a compelling and totally unexpected climax.


A fictional soap opera brings three friends joy and headaches in a nostalgic...glitzy...thriller..."
... Publishers Weekly

Dietz's depiction of television provides lots of cutting, witty dialogue.
... Gumshoe Review

Soap Bubbles draws the reader in from the first page as the journey through the lives of three complex women begins. Delly, Anissa and Maryl each have a childhood that contains events that will shape their self concept, scar their hearts, and lead them to each other in the land of Hollywood years into the future.

Eventually their careers collide. Then, Anissa and Maryl must work together to find the person who started a fire, for which Delly is being accused, in the television studio. In this case, the character's real lives are more exciting than the soap opera in which Anissa and Delly star.

Denise Dietz does a wonderful job of telling each woman's story and then bringing the ladies together in a plausible way for the second half of the book. You will find yourself crying, cheering and laughing as these smart characters search for happiness in a city where everyone wants something from them. There are many twists and surprises that make it a book hard to set aside.
... Affaire de Coeur

"Vivid characters carry a star-dusted mystery thriller along at a breathless pace."
... Lillian Stewart Carl

"In Dietz's Soap Bubbles, Valley Of The Dolls meets General Hospital meets a glitzy, very pregnant pair of Cagney and Laceys in a bang up, sexy, entertaining read full of characters who don't let go when you close the book."
... Bestselling author Terese Ramin

"Denise Dietz once again proves herself the diva of witty dialogue and whiplash plot twists in this fascinating behind-the-scenes look at the soap operas we all love. Soap Bubbles is a richly detailed story with believable characters and a story line full of surprises."
... Bestselling author Fran Baker

"What's a nice guy like me doing, reading a novel full of kaleidoscopic sins, behind-the-scenes show biz turned inside out, and story twists and surprises piled one on top of the next? Having a glorious time, that's what. Thank you, Ms. Dietz."
... Bestselling author Robert S. Levinson

Used availability for Denise Dietz's Soap Bubbles

See all available used copies of this book at Abebooks UK or Abebooks US

Hardback Editions

April 2010 : USA Hardback
Title: Soap Bubbles (Five Star Expressions)
Author(s): Denise Dietz
ISBN: 1-59414-875-9 / 978-1-59414-875-0 (USA edition)
Publisher: Five Star
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

Kindle Editions

January 2011 : USA, Canada, UK Kindle edition
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

Search for