Lillian Stewart Carl's picture

Lillian Stewart Carl

USA flag (b.1949)

Lillian Stewart Carl grew up in Missouri and Ohio and has lived for many years in North Texas, in a book-lined cloister cleverly disguised as a tract house. So of course she's developed a taste for exotic locales and otherworldly happenings.

After making her debut in science fiction and fantasy, she's now writing contemporary novels that blend mystery, romance, and fantasy/supernatural themes. Her books always feature plots based on history and archaeology, and explore the way the past lingers on in the present - especially in the British Isles, where she's visited many times.

Shadows in Scarlet is her ninth novel. She's also published a number of sf/f and mystery short stories. The earlier ones have been collected in Along the Rim of Time. Her first romantic mystery, Ashes to Ashes, is also available on audio.

Lillian is a member of SFWA, Sisters in Crime, Novelists Inc., and the Author's Guild.

Genres: Romantic Suspense
Anthologies edited
Non fiction
Anthologies containing stories by Lillian Stewart Carl
Short stories
The Borders of Sabazel (1982)
From the Labyrinth of Night (1984)
The Rim of the Wheel (1984)
The King Under the Water (1985)
Upon This Shoal of Time (1985)
Where is Thy Victory? (1985)
Pleasure Palace (1986)
Out of Darkness (1987)
The Blood of the Lamb (1996)
The Test of Gold (1998)
A Rose with all its Thorns (1999)
Cold as Fire (2000)

Lillian Stewart Carl recommends
Soap Bubbles (2010)
Denise Dietz
"Vivid characters carry a star-dusted mystery thriller along at a breathless pace."

Visitors to this page also looked at these authors