New Authors     New Books     Coming Soon     Most Popular     Top Authors    
<< Previous bookNext book >>

No Place for an Honest Woman

(A book in the Casey Collins series)
A novel by

First thing a junior diplomat must learn is to lie well. If she's serving at the the American embassy in Cold War Poland, not only her career, but also her survival depend on it. Which means Warsaw is the most wrong place truthful Kathryn "Casey" Collins can be in April, 1986. She isn't even as good a liar as Matt, the Marine Security Guard who sweet-talks his way into her bed, only to dump her and break the embassy's SLEEP NATO rule with Ewa. Who is herself a skillful liar. Didn't she convince Matt she's an ordinary Warsaw girl and not bait in a honey trap set by the SB, Polish intelligence's clone of the Russian KGB?

But when it comes to prevarication, neither Matt nor Ewa can match sexy Stefan Krajewski, the senior SB agent who's whispering to Casey that she's not his soon-to-be-seduced source of US secrets. He insists he wants her close because she's the only person positioned to save Americans scheduled to be blown up by terrorists working for Libya's Colonel Gaddafi.

No fool, Casey knows she can't trust Krajewski. His offer is too good to be true and she turns him down. Until the best liars of all - from her own CIA - bully her into playing along. They hope she'll discover what they can't: Where will Libyan-backed terrorists from the Abu Nidal Organization strike in their chosen killing ground of Western Europe?

Because Gaddafi and Abu Nidal aren't lying. They will blow up Americans in Europe. Only by putting her career on the line can Casey discover where they'll attack. And when they realize she's the one foiling their plans, she'll become their next target.

When fifty US warplanes make a night raid against Gaddafi's headquarters in Tripoli and missile batteries in Benghazi,Casey knows her cover is blown. Struggling to save herself, she's ensnared more deeply in a web of deceit and betrayal where no lie can save her.

No Place for an Honest Woman introduces Casey Collins at the beginning of her career. The story takes place a decade before Diana Deverell's three previously-published novels in which Casey continues her fight against terrorism: 12 Drummers Drumming, Night on Fire and East Past Warsaw.

Used availability for Diana Deverell's No Place for an Honest Woman

See all available used copies of this book at Abebooks UK or Abebooks US

Kindle Editions

June 2014 : USA, Canada, UK Kindle edition
thumbTitle: No Place for an Honest Woman (Casey Collins International Thrillers)
Author(s): Diana Deverell
Publisher: Sorrel Press
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

Search for