book cover of The Devil Upon the Wave
Added by 4 of our members

The Devil Upon the Wave

(The eighth book in the Matthew Quinton Journals series)
A novel by


Broadsides, divided loyalties and revenge on the high seas

1671: Matthew Quinton is on a mission into the heart of enemy waters, bent on revenge for England's crushing defeat of 1667. The Dutch not only destroyed English ships and slaughtered their men, but stole the jewel of the fleet, the flagship Royal Charles.

As the mission starts to unravel, Quinton is faced with a dilemma. He may need to sail into battle not with his men, but on an enemy man-of-war, against his own side…

Fans of Julian Stockwin and John Drake will love The Devil Upon the Wave, book eight in the Matthew Quinton Journals.

‘Finely shaded characters, excellent plotting, gut-clenching action and immaculate attention to period naval detail… these are superb books’ Angus Donald, author of The Outlaw Chronicles

‘A splendid addition to nautical adventure, and a grand story, to boot!’ Dewey Lambdin, author of the Alan Lewrie series.

The Matthew Quinton Journals

1. Gentleman Captain
2. The Mountain of Gold
3. The Blast that Tears the Skies
4. The Lion of Midnight
5. The Battle of the Ages
6. The Rage of Fortune
7. Death's Bright Angel
8. The Devil Upon the Wave

Genre: Historical

Praise for this book

"Hornblower, Aubrey and Quinton-a pantheon of the best adventures at sea!." - Conn Iggulden

Similar books by other authors

Used availability for J D Davies's The Devil Upon the Wave

Paperback Editions

July 2017 : USA Paperback

Title: The Devil Upon the Wave
Author(s): J D Davies
ISBN: 1-5219-7488-8 / 978-1-5219-7488-9 (USA edition)
Publisher: Independently published
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   

Kindle Editions

May 2018 : USA, Australia, Canada, UK Kindle edition

Title: The Devil Upon the Wave (The Matthew Quinton Journals Book 8)
Author(s): J D Davies
Publisher: Canelo Adventure
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU