New Authors     New Books     Coming Soon     Most Popular     Top Authors    
     New Books     Coming Soon     
book cover of Cry of the Peacock

Cry of the Peacock

(1992)
A novel by

 
 
Against the backdrop of a changing England - of Empire building abroad and of Regency glamour in Brighton - Cry of the Peacock is a scintillating tale of the love and regret, of ambitious plans and sobering reality, of patience and hope.

Maeve Dacre can not remember a time when she wasn't aware of Hollander's House - the great estate in the Romney Marshes.

As a young girl she knew it as the ancestral home of her kindly step-father's relatives. And then as a young woman, she comes to know it as her own home in waiting - a place that will finally be hers when she marries her cousin, Freddy Hollander.

Her destiny mapped out, Maeve is content to be patient and wait for Freddy to return from service in India. But the best-laid plans often go awry, and when the wealthy and urbane Sir Ralph Digby arrives in Kent and begins paying her attention, Maeve finds her resolve unexpectedly faltering.

Should she follow her heart or her head?

The second book in Juliet Dymoke's acclaimed Hollander Trilogy.

For fans of Jane Austen and Georgette Heyer.

    

Similar books by other authors


Used availability for Juliet Dymoke's Cry of the Peacock

Hardback Editions

January 1994 : UK Hardback
thumb

Title: Cry of the Peacock
Author(s): Juliet Dymoke
ISBN: 0-7089-3004-2 / 978-0-7089-3004-5 (UK edition)
Publisher: Ulverscroft
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


October 1992 : UK Hardback

Title: Cry of the Peacock
Author(s): Juliet Dymoke
ISBN: 0-7499-0140-3 / 978-0-7499-0140-0 (UK edition)
Publisher: Piatkus Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


Kindle Editions

November 2017 : USA, Canada, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Cry of the Peacock (Hollander Trilogy Book 2)
Author(s): Juliet Dymoke
Publisher: Three Castles Media
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA