book cover of The Daughter
Added by 6 of our members

The Daughter

(2018)
A novel by

 
 
'Gripped me and didn't let go until the wickedly twisted ending.' Jenny Blackhurst

You lost your daughter. You will never forgive yourself. Now someone's determined to make you pay... Seventeen years ago, something happened to Jess's daughter Beth. The memory of it still makes her blood run cold. Jess has tried everything to make peace with that day, and the part she played in what happened. It was only a brief moment of desire... but she'll pay for it with a lifetime of guilt.

To distance herself from the mistakes of the past, Jess has moved away and started over with her family. But when terrifying things begin happening in her new home, Jess knows that her past has finally caught up with her. Somebody feels Jess hasn't paid enough, and is determined to make her suffer for the secrets she's kept all these years.

A heartbreaking and unputdownable psychological thriller perfect for fans of Lisa Jewell, The Wife Between Us and The Girl on the Train.

What everyone's saying about The Daughter:


'Omg this book was soooo good. I couldn't put it down... It was such a shocking twist at the end. All the revelations that came to light at the end were fantastic. This book had everything. Great characters, content and a shocking ending. What more do you want from a book?' 5 stars, Goodreads reviewer

'Full of suspense and had me biting my nails down to my knuckles!!... This was a fantastic book, which I would highly recommend if you love a good thriller! You will certainly not be disappointed with this one!' 5 stars, Stardust Book Reviews

'Tense, twisty and all too close to home: Lucy Dawson is brilliant at spinning our worst nightmares from everyday scenarios.' Erin Kelly author of He Said/She Said

'I flew through it. It's a hold your breath, race to the end, one-sitting read. Delicious twists!' Jo Spain, author of The Confession

'This book is INTENSE. Be prepared for one heck of a thrilling ride!' Goodreads reviewer

'Holy twist and turns!!... There will be moments of awe, surprise, shock, a few shakes of the head, and tons of questions, but this story caters to the readers who love a good psychological thriller that will have you questioning every single character in the book.' Goodreads reviewer

'Oh MY, OHH MYY! WOOW, this was soo INTENSE!!... Kept me on the edge of my seat throughout. The first few chapters just tore at my heartstrings! This riveting story will definitely have you reading until the small hours... Let's just say, this book is the reason I love this genre!' Goodreads reviewer

'I didn't want to stop!... It was a surprising ending, not what I was expecting at all.' Goodreads reviewer

'I loved it!! I read it in around a day as I found the really hard to put down. A fabulous read that I can highly recommend' Goodreads reviewer

'The first chapters are a heart-wrenching, one tissue won't be enough, tearjerker... The ending is a never-saw-it-coming surprise.' Goodreads reviewer

'From the first page, I was drawn to the story and I couldn't wait to finish it.' 5 stars, Books in the Dark

'Wow... I couldn't put this book down.' Goodreads reviewer

'A scary psychological novel with an exceptionally well-written plot... the end was completely unexpected and left me open-mouthed.' 5 stars, Goodreads reviewer

'I read it in 24 hours, could not put it down. I could not have foreseen the ending in a million years.' 5 stars, Goodreads reviewer

'A brilliant read with huge suspense! I was genuinely frightened at times which was fantastic. A brilliant twist at the end!!' 5 stars, Goodreads reviewer

Genre: Mystery

Praise for this book

"The Daughter gripped me and didn’t let go until the wickedly twisted ending." - Jenny Blackhurst

"Gulped this down in a single sitting. Believable characters, intriguing central hook and a plot that hurtles along until the final page." - Tammy Cohen

"Tense, twisty and all too close to home." - Erin Kelly

"A gripping, twisty novel that gets right under your skin." - Mel Sherratt

"A gripping read with an intriguing and unsettling mystery at its heart. It kept me guessing all the way through. I found it impossible to put down." - C L Taylor


Similar books by other authors


Used availability for Lucy Dawson's The Daughter

Paperback Editions

January 2018 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: The Daughter: A gripping psychological thriller with a twist you won't see coming
Author(s): Lucy Dawson
ISBN: 1-78681-330-0 / 978-1-78681-330-5 (UK edition)
Publisher: Bookouture
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

April 2018 : Australia MP3 CD
thumb

Title: The Daughter
Author(s): Lucy Dawson
ISBN: 1-4894-3579-4 / 978-1-4894-3579-8 (Australia edition)
Publisher: Bolinda Audio
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


February 2018 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Daughter
Author(s): Lucy Dawson
Publisher: Bolinda Publishing Pty Ltd
Availability: Amazon   


February 2018 : Australia Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Daughter
Author(s): Lucy Dawson
Publisher: Bolinda Publishing Pty Ltd
Availability: Amazon AU   


February 2018 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Daughter
Author(s): Lucy Dawson
Publisher: Bolinda Publishing Pty Ltd
Availability: Amazon CA   


February 2018 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Daughter
Author(s): Lucy Dawson
Publisher: Bolinda Publishing Pty Ltd
Availability: Amazon UK   


January 2018 : Australia Audio CD
thumb

Title: The Daughter
Author(s): Lucy Dawson
ISBN: 1-4894-2115-7 / 978-1-4894-2115-9 (Australia edition)
Publisher: Bolinda audio
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


January 2018 : Australia Audio CD
thumb

Title: The Daughter
Author(s): Lucy Dawson
ISBN: 1-4894-2116-5 / 978-1-4894-2116-6 (Australia edition)
Publisher: Bolinda audio
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Kindle Editions

January 2018 : USA, Australia, Canada, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Daughter: A gripping psychological thriller with a twist you won't see coming
Author(s): Lucy Dawson
Publisher: Bookouture
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU