book cover of The Poppy Girls
Added by 45 of our members

The Poppy Girls

(2018)
(The first book in the Maitland Trilogy series)
A novel by

 
 
The Poppy Girls is the first title in The Maitland Trilogy, by bestselling author Margaret Dickinson.

Even amidst the horror of the trenches, friendship will survive . . .

Thwarted in her desire to become a doctor like her brother Robert, Pips Maitland rebels against her mother’s wishes that she settle down and raise children. However, when Robert brings home a friend from medical school, Giles Kendall, it seems perhaps Pips might fall in love with an acceptable suitor after all. But the year is 1914 and the future is uncertain. Hearing that her father’s friend, Dr John Hazelwood, is forming a flying ambulance corps to take to the front lines, Pips is determined to become one of its nurses and asks Alice Dawson, her maid, to go with her. Robert and Giles offer their services as doctors, and Alice’s brother William joins them as a stretcher bearer.

Nothing could have prepared them for the horrific sights they encounter. Moving their unit close to the fighting to offer first aid as quickly as possible puts them all in constant danger. But even amidst the barrage of shelling and gunfire, the unending stream of injured being brought to their post, the love between Pips and Giles survives and blossoms just like the poppies of Flanders fields.

Fans of Dilly Court and Rosie Goodwin will love The Poppy Girls. Continue the story of the Maitland family with The Brooklands Girls.

Genre: Sagas

Similar books by other authors


Used availability for Margaret Dickinson's The Poppy Girls

Hardback Editions

February 2019 : UK Hardback
thumb

Title: The Poppy Girls
Author(s): Margaret Dickinson
ISBN: 0-7505-4689-1 / 978-0-7505-4689-8 (UK edition)
Publisher: Magna Large Print Books
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


January 2018 : UK Hardback
thumb

Title: The Poppy Girls (The Maitland Trilogy)
Author(s): Margaret Dickinson
ISBN: 1-5098-5145-3 / 978-1-5098-5145-4 (UK edition)
Publisher: Macmillan
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


Paperback Editions

February 2018 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: The Poppy Girls (The Maitland Trilogy)
Author(s): Margaret Dickinson
ISBN: 1-5098-5146-1 / 978-1-5098-5146-1 (UK edition)
Publisher: Pan
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

March 2018 : UK Audio CD
thumb

Title: The Poppy Girls: 1
Author(s): Margaret Dickinson
ISBN: 1-5098-8742-3 / 978-1-5098-8742-2 (UK edition)
Publisher: Bolinda/Macmillan audio
Availability: Amazon AU   


March 2018 : UK Audio CD
thumb

Title: The Poppy Girls: 1
Author(s): Margaret Dickinson
ISBN: 1-5098-8743-1 / 978-1-5098-8743-9 (UK edition)
Publisher: Bolinda/Macmillan audio
Availability: Amazon AU   


February 2018 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Poppy Girls
Author(s): Margaret Dickinson
Publisher: Macmillan Digital Audio
Availability: Amazon   


February 2018 : Australia Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Poppy Girls
Author(s): Margaret Dickinson
Publisher: Macmillan Digital Audio
Availability: Amazon AU   


February 2018 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Poppy Girls
Author(s): Margaret Dickinson
Publisher: Macmillan Digital Audio
Availability: Amazon CA   


February 2018 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Poppy Girls
Author(s): Margaret Dickinson
Publisher: Macmillan Digital Audio
Availability: Amazon UK   


Kindle Editions

February 2018 : Australia Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Poppy Girls: The Maitland Trilogy 1
Author(s): Margaret Dickinson
Publisher: Macmillan
Availability: Amazon AU   


February 2018 : Canada, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Poppy Girls (The Maitland Trilogy Book 1)
Author(s): Margaret Dickinson
Publisher: Pan
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon CA