book cover of The Temple House Vanishing
Added by 7 of our members

The Temple House Vanishing

(2020)
A novel by

 
 

'This brooding tale of obsessive love, teenage jealousy and hidden desire has a dark charm' The i paper


'Atmospheric, creepy, tense and utterly absorbing' Harriet Tyce


'Clean prose, subtle characters and intrigue to keep the pages turning' Mike McCormack


___________________

Power. Jealousy. Desire.

Twenty-five years ago, a sixteen-year-old schoolgirl and her charismatic teacher disappeared without trace...

When Louisa arrives at Temple House, an elite catholic boarding school, she quickly finds herself drawn to sophisticated fellow pupil Victoria and their young bohemian art teacher, Mr Lavelle. The three of them form a bond that seems to offer an escape from the repressive regime of the nuns who run the cloistered school. Until Louisa and Mr Lavelle suddenly vanish.

Years later, a journalist with a childhood connection to Louisa determines to resolve the mystery. Her search for the truth will uncover a tragic, mercurial tale of suppressed desire and long-buried secrets. It will shatter lives and lay a lost soul to rest.

The Temple House Vanishing is a stunning, intensely atmospheric novel of unrequited longing, dark obsession and unintended consequences.

'Chilling' Christine Dwyer Hickey

'Exquisite' Jo Spain

___________________

Perfect for fans of Emily M. Danforth's's Plain Bad Heroines...

Genre: Literary Fiction

Praise for this book

"Beautifully written in the same chilling vein as a Daphne du Maurier novel, The Temple House Vanishing promises to be the outstanding debut of 2020." - Christine Dwyer Hickey

"With clean prose, subtle characters and intrigue to keep the pages turning this is a hugely promising debut." - Mike McCormack

"An exquisitely written novel. Absolutely beautiful. So evocative for me of all those school greats - The Secret History, Dead Poets Society, Picnic at Hanging Rock. It was such a slow build of tension but simmering with that sinister under-layer the whole time. This is some debut." - Jo Spain

"Atmospheric, creepy, tense and utterly absorbing - a great literary thriller set in a Catholic girls' boarding school. Loved this." - Harriet Tyce


Similar books by other authors


Used availability for Rachel Donohue's The Temple House Vanishing

Hardback Editions

July 2021 : USA Hardback

Title: The Temple House Vanishing
Author(s): Rachel Donohue
ISBN: 1-64375-027-5 / 978-1-64375-027-9 (USA edition)
Publisher: Algonquin Books
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


February 2020 : UK Hardback
thumb

Title: The Temple House Vanishing
Author(s): Rachel Donohue
ISBN: 1-78649-938-X / 978-1-78649-938-7 (UK edition)
Publisher: Corvus
Availability: Amazon UK   


Paperback Editions

September 2020 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: The Temple House Vanishing
Author(s): Rachel Donohue
ISBN: 1-78649-939-8 / 978-1-78649-939-4 (UK edition)
Publisher: Corvus
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


February 2020 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: The Temple House Vanishing
Author(s): Rachel Donohue
ISBN: 1-83895-024-9 / 978-1-83895-024-8 (UK edition)
Publisher: Corvus
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

February 2020 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Temple House Vanishing
Author(s): Rachel Donohue
Publisher: Audible Studios
Availability: Amazon   


February 2020 : Australia Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Temple House Vanishing
Author(s): Rachel Donohue
Publisher: Audible Studios
Availability: Amazon AU   


February 2020 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Temple House Vanishing
Author(s): Rachel Donohue
Publisher: Audible Studios
Availability: Amazon UK   


Kindle Editions

February 2020 : Australia, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Temple House Vanishing: 'Atmospheric, creepy, tense and utterly absorbing' Harriet Tyce
Author(s): Rachel Donohue
Publisher: Corvus
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU