book cover of Audacity
Added by 3 of our members

Audacity

(1985)
(The fifth book in the Commander Cochrane Smith Naval Thrillers series)
A novel by

 
 

Commander Cochrane Smith must battle through treacherous waters in this First World War naval thriller.



Spring, 1918

: Bolshevik Russia has withdrawn from the war and now stands isolated, ineffectually hostile to both Germany and the Allied Forces. The Russian fleet at Kronstadt remains highly vulnerable, and the British government fears that a German offensive to ‘liberate’ the Kronstadt naval force could swing the balance of seapower against the Royal Navy.

Commander David Cochrane Smith
is captain of Audacity, a Q ship, no more than a lightly armed disguised tramp steamer. He is ordered to deliver a fortune in gold and a mysterious female passenger to a group of Russian plotters who are prepared to sink the fleet and block German access to the harbour. The only way through is to penetrate the defences of the Baltic’s minefields and patrolling destroyers. Smith’s one protection is Audacity’s disguise as a neutral ship: if that is stripped away his orders are to scuttle her because the Admiralty believes escape to be impossible…

This action-filled First World War thriller is perfect for fans of Jack Higgins, Alexander Fullerton and Douglas Reeman.

Praise for Audacity

'I think a 21 gun salute is required … Alan Evans has produced a cracking thriller' Daily Mirror

'Evans provides a different sea story, sustained suspense and vivid battle scenes' Publishers Weekly

Genre: Thriller

Similar books by other authors

thumb
American Traitor
(Pike Logan, book 15)
Brad Taylor

Used availability for Alan Evans's Audacity

Hardback Editions

October 1987 : UK Hardback

Title: Audacity
Author(s): Alan Evans
ISBN: 0-7089-1699-6 / 978-0-7089-1699-5 (UK edition)
Publisher: Ulverscroft Large Print Books Ltd
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


October 1989 : USA Hardback

Title: Audacity
Author(s): Alan Evans
ISBN: 0-517-01203-0 / 978-0-517-01203-1 (USA edition)
Publisher: Random House Value Publishing
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA   


September 1987 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: Audacity
Author(s): Alan Evans
ISBN: 0-8027-0995-8 / 978-0-8027-0995-0 (USA edition)
Publisher: Walker & Co
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


November 1985 : UK Hardback
thumb

Title: Audacity
Author(s): Alan Evans
ISBN: 0-340-34652-3 / 978-0-340-34652-5 (UK edition)
Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton Ltd
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Paperback Editions

October 2001 : UK Paperback

Title: Audacity
Author(s): Alan Evans
ISBN: 0-7551-0565-6 / 978-0-7551-0565-6 (UK edition)
Publisher: House of Stratus
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


February 1988 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: Audacity (Coronet Books)
Author(s): Alan Evans
ISBN: 0-340-41345-X / 978-0-340-41345-6 (UK edition)
Publisher: Coronet Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

August 1992 : UK Audio Cassette

Title: Audacity: Unabridged
Author(s): Alan Evans
ISBN: 1-85496-644-8 / 978-1-85496-644-5 (UK edition)
Publisher: Soundings Ltd
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


Kindle Editions

September 2018 : USA, Australia, Canada, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Audacity (The Commander Cochrane Smith Naval Thrillers Book 5)
Author(s): Alan Evans
Publisher: Canelo Action
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU