book cover of Winterwood
Added by 5 of our members

Winterwood

(1967)
A novel by

 
 
A woman leaves Venice for a grand English manor in this gothic romance from a New York Times–bestselling author—perfect for fans of Mary Stewart and Victoria Holt.
 Haunted by her scandalous past, Lavinia Hurst accepts a position as companion to young invalid Flora Meryon. But something is very wrong at Winterwood, the Meryons’ isolated estate by the sea. And when Flora suddenly becomes heiress to a large fortune, Lavinia realizes that her charge is in mortal danger.

It becomes clear that someone is determined not to let Flora live to see her inheritance. Then letters begin arriving from a dead relative. Do ghosts haunt Winterwood? Or is this the specter of living greed? Determined to thwart the deadly plan, Lavinia risks her own life to protect Flora’s, while fighting her powerful desire for Flora’s father, Daniel, a man tormented by his own demons.

Rich in atmosphere and mystery, Winterwood is Dorothy Eden at her gothic best.

Genre: General Fiction

Praise for this book

"For anyone who loves stories of suspense and romance, I would recommend Dorothy Eden." - Mary Stewart


Similar books by other authors


Used availability for Dorothy Eden's Winterwood

Hardback Editions

January 1978 : UK Hardback
thumb

Title: Winterwood (Ulverscroft large print series. [romance])
Author(s): Dorothy Eden
ISBN: 0-7089-0088-7 / 978-0-7089-0088-8 (UK edition)
Publisher: Ulverscroft
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


June 1972 : UK Hardback
thumb

Title: Winterwood
Author(s): Dorothy Eden
ISBN: 0-340-15918-9 / 978-0-340-15918-7 (UK edition)
Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton Ltd
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


1967 : Hardback
thumb

Title: Winterwood
Author(s): Dorothy Eden
Publisher: Coward-McCann
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


Paperback Editions

June 1978 : USA Mass Market Paperback
thumb

Title: Winterwood
Author(s): Dorothy Eden
ISBN: 0-449-23185-2 / 978-0-449-23185-2 (USA edition)
Publisher: Fawcett
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


December 1975 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: Winterwood
Author(s): Dorothy Eden
ISBN: 0-340-04342-3 / 978-0-340-04342-4 (UK edition)
Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton Ltd
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


1969 : Paperback
thumb

Title: Winterwood
Author(s):
Publisher:
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   


1968 : Mass Market Paperback
thumb

Title: Winterwood
Author(s): Dorothy Eden
Publisher: Fawcett Crest Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


Audio Editions

March 1993 : UK Audio Cassette
thumb

Title: Winterwood: Unabridged (Soundings)
Author(s): Dorothy Eden
ISBN: 1-85496-741-X / 978-1-85496-741-1 (UK edition)
Publisher: Soundings Ltd
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


Kindle Editions

July 2013 : USA, Australia, Canada, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Winterwood
Author(s): Dorothy Eden
Publisher: Open Road Media Romance
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU