book cover of The Flicker
Added by 1 member
 

The Flicker

(2024)
A novel by

 
 
Perfect for fans of The Marrow Thieves, Hatchet and The City of Ember, H.E. Edgmon's middle grade debut offers a bittersweet tale of hope and survival, a modern classic for the climate change generation.

One year ago, a solar flare scorched the Earth and destroyed life as we know it.

With their parents gone and supplies running dangerously low, step-sisters Millie and Rose only have one chance at survival: leave home with their infant half-brother and loyal dog Corncob in search of Millie’s grandma, a Seminole elder. As they navigate the burning land with a group of fellow survivors, dodging The Hive, a villainous group that has spent the last year hoarding supplies and living in luxury, the siblings have to learn to rely on each other more than ever, and discover how to build a new life from the ashes.

Expertly balancing heartbreak and hope,
The Flicker is both a thrilling survival story and a tender exploration of Indigenous ideas of identity and found family.

Genre: Children's Fiction



About Fantastic Fiction       Information for Authors