book cover of Comeback
Added by 1 members
 

Comeback

(1990)
(The first book in the Gun Pedersen Mystery series)
A novel by

 
 
***NOMINATED FOR AN EDGAR AWARD***

In the midst of substantial personal loss and scandal, six-foot-six Gunsten Søren Pedersen, the Detroit Tigers’ worshipped, veteran fence-swinger, walked away from his career and sport that he loved. Retiring to the tranquil solitude of Minnesota’s North Woods, disgraced, Gun left behind disappointed fans and searing press coverage. But a millionaire real estate investor is out to tear up Gun’s new turf. Loon Country Attractions, to be built on Gun’s piece of paradise, comes replete with an amusement park, convention center, and shopping super-center—with vast environmental degradation to boot. The townsfolk are divided, and Gun is further pulled into the center of the chaos when his progeny becomes pawn in a political campaign that’s turned downright violent. Seizing an opportunity for redemption, Gun goes berserker for everything left that he holds dear—but this new game might cost him his life. Fans of Lee Child's Jack Reacher, Craig Johnson's Longmire, and Nevada Barr's Anna Pigeon enjoy Engers’ Gun Pedersen.

***PRAISE FOR THE GUN PEDERSEN SERIES***

COMEBACK:

“A well-written, fast-reading thriller. . . . It’s got everything.”
—Minneapolis St. Paul Magazine

“Comeback is so good, you want to sit down and read it all at once. It’s got love and shame and money and the Minnesota woods and lakes, and dark mystery, and a reluctant hero, and it’s written with humor and passion.”
—Garrison Keillor

SWING:

“Solidly entertaining.”
—ALA Booklist

“In Swing, the plot twists as unpredictably as a hangman’s rope. Swing has muscle (and heart, too).”
—Alfred Hitchcock’s Mystery Magazine

“[A] sure hit.”
—R.D. Zimmerman, author of Deadfall in Berlin

STRIKE:

“Compelling.”
—Publishers Weekly

SACRIFICE:

“Sacrifice is the best novel I’ve read this year. Not just the best mystery, but the best novel, period.”
—Jeremiah Healy, author of the John Francis Cuddy series

“Sharp and engaging!”
—Minneapolis Star Tribune

THE SINNERS’ LEAGUE:

“[A] revelation . . .”
—Booklist


Genre: Mystery

Visitors also looked at these books


Used availability for Leif Enger's Comeback


About Fantastic Fiction       Information for Authors