book cover of Into the Burning Dawn
Added by 6 of our members

Into the Burning Dawn

(2020)
A novel by

 
 
Naples, Italy, 1940. In the courtyard of the palazzo overlooking a sparkling bay, the scent of ripening lemons fills the air. His deep brown eyes gaze into hers with determination and longing. ‘Will you do it? Risk everything and join us?’

Twenty-one-year-old Imogen Fitzgerald is a nanny, working in a grand family home with views across the bay of Naples when World War Two breaks out. As an Englishwoman, overnight she becomes an enemy of Italy. But with her cold and intimidating employer away fighting for the fascists, she refuses to leave the two innocent children he left in her care. She hopes her dark hair and perfect Italian will protect her identity, for now…

One morning, as shadows of bombs darken the azure-blue waters of the bay, the children’s estranged uncle Fabrizio arrives. Imogen knows she is forbidden to speak to him, but when they secretly meet in the lemon groves, his passionate talk of the resistenza has her falling for the cause – and for Fabrizio himself.

Just as Imogen starts to follow the call of the resistance, the Nazis pour into the once-beautiful city, and the children’s father returns from the fighting. Imogen finds him much changed: instead of a dedicated fascist, she sees a misunderstood man who would do anything to protect his family. Torn between two men, and two sides, Imogen has an impossible decision to make. Throw herself into the resistenza even if it means betraying her employer? Or stay to save the children she loves as her own?

An absolutely stunning and evocative historical read about the bravery of ordinary people in dark times, that will sweep you away to the breath-taking coastline of Italy. Perfect for fans of The Nightingale, The Tuscan Child and All the Light We Cannot See.

Read what everyone’s saying about Into the Burning Dawn:


Amazing stuff! I really felt my heart torn up for Imogen. I felt so many emotions… I highly recommend this book! Five stars all the way!’ Goodreads Reviewer, 5 stars

‘Natalie Meg Evans is seriously talented! So many amazing turns of phrase in this book. I was completely gripped… The writing was superb, the historical details completely immersive… I would love to read anything this author writes.’ Squeezed Peach, 5 stars

Heartbreaking, haunting… you are going to devour this one… a mesmerizing, poignant, emotional, gripping, passionate and compelling novel… powerful and evocative… I cannot recommend this enough.’ Chicks, Rogues and Scandals

‘An absolutely gripping and beautiful story, set against the stunning backdrop of southern Italy… The writing is sublime… makes you instantly fall in love… There are many twists and surprising turns in this story that will keep you gripped to the very last page… A highly enjoyable read, and if you enjoy historical romance with drama, this is a must.’ Goodreads Reviewer

‘It was exciting, suspenseful, romantic and had quite a twist at the end… I loved the characters… I loved both the story and the ending. If you love WWII books you have to read this one. I recommend this book.’ Goodreads Reviewer, 5 stars

‘Natalie Meg Evans is one of my favourite authors… she is a master at writing historical fiction… a great WWII saga, with a lot of twists and turns. I really enjoyed this book – highly recommend!’ Goodreads Reviewer, 5 stars

Genre: Historical

Similar books by other authors


Used availability for Natalie Meg Evans's Into the Burning Dawn

Paperback Editions

September 2020 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: Into the Burning Dawn: Heartbreaking and gripping World War 2 historical fiction set in Italy
Author(s): Natalie Meg Evans
ISBN: 1-83888-605-2 / 978-1-83888-605-9 (UK edition)
Publisher: Bookouture
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

September 2020 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: Into the Burning Dawn: Heartbreaking and Gripping World War 2 Historical Fiction Set in Italy
Author(s): Natalie Meg Evans
Publisher: Hachette UK - Bookouture
Availability: Amazon   


September 2020 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: Into the Burning Dawn: Heartbreaking and Gripping World War 2 Historical Fiction Set in Italy
Author(s): Natalie Meg Evans
Publisher: Hachette UK - Bookouture
Availability: Amazon CA   


Kindle Editions

September 2020 : USA, Australia, Canada, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Into the Burning Dawn: Heartbreaking and gripping World War 2 historical fiction set in Italy
Author(s): Natalie Meg Evans
Publisher: Bookouture
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU