Sylvia Engdahl's picture

Sylvia Engdahl

(Sylvia Louise Engdahl)
USA flag (b.1933)

Sylvia Engdahl is the author of nine science fiction novels, six of which are Young Adult novels that are also enjoyed by adults. The one for which she is best known, "Enchantress from the Stars," was a Newbery Honor book, winner of the 1990 Phoenix Award of the Children's Literature Association, and a finalist for the 2002 Book Sense Book of the Year in the Rediscovery category. Her three latest novels, the trilogy "Stewards of the Flame," "Promise of the Flame," and "Defender of the Flame," are for adults. Recently, she has published an updated and expanded edition of her nonfiction book "The Planet-Girded Suns," first published in 1974 with the subtitle "Man's View of Other Solar Systems" and now subtitled "The History of Human Thought About Extrasolar Worlds." She is a strong advocate of space colonization and has maintained a widely-read space section of her website for many years. She also created the site, which contains quotations about why humankind must expand into space. From her home in Eugene, Oregon she now works as a freelance editor of nonfiction anthologies for high schools.

Genres: Science Fiction
Children of the Star
   1. Heritage of the Star (1972)
     aka This Star Shall Abide
   2. Beyond the Tomorrow Mountains (1973)
   3. The Doors of the Universe (1981)
Rising Flame
   1. Defender of the Flame (2013)
   2. Herald of the Flame (2014)
   3. Envoy of the Flame (2021)
Anthologies edited
   Universe Ahead (1975) (with Rick Roberson)
   Anywhere, Anywhen (1976)
   Extraterrestrial Life (2005)
Non fiction
Sorry, we're not listing non fiction by this author

About Fantastic Fiction       Information for Authors