book cover of Maybe We\'re Electric
Added by 3 of our members

Maybe We're Electric

(2021)
A novel by

 
 
From Val Emmich, the bestselling author of Dear Evan Hansen: The Novel, comes a deeply affecting story of two teens who find themselves thrown together overnight during a snowstorm and discover a surprising connection—perfect for fans of Nina LaCour, David Arnold, and Robin Benway.

Tegan Everly is quiet. Known around school simply as the girl with the hand, she's usually only her most outspoken self with her friend Neel, and right now they're not exactly talking. When Tegan is ambushed by her mom with a truth she can't face, she flees home in a snowstorm, finding refuge at a forgotten local attraction—the tiny Thomas Edison museum.

She's not alone for long. In walks Mac Durant. Striking, magnetic, a gifted athlete, Mac Durant is the classmate adored by all. Tegan can't stand him. Even his name sounds fake. Except the Mac Durant she thinks she knows isn't the one before her now—this Mac is rattled and asking her for help.

Over one unforgettable night spent consuming antique records and corner-shop provisions, Tegan and Mac cast aside their public personas and family pressures long enough to forge an unexpectedly charged bond and—in the very spot in New Jersey that inspired Edison's boldest creations—totally reinvent themselves. But could Tegan's most shameful secret destroy what they've built?

Emotionally vivid and endlessly charming, Maybe We're Electric is an artfully woven meditation on how pain can connect us—we can carry it alone in darkness or share the burden and watch the world light up again.


Genre: Young Adult Fiction

Praise for this book

"A poignant, gemlike novel about grief, regret, and loneliness. Tegan's story is emotionally vivid, poetically crafted, and utterly moving." - Kathleen Glasgow

"Val Emmich's Maybe We're Electric is a beautifully rendered portrait of two complicated teens who find the secrets to unlocking their authentic selves through an unexpected connection. Written with tenderness and heart, this is a book that will light readers up." - Abdi Nazemian


Similar books by other authors


Used availability for Val Emmich's Maybe We're Electric

Hardback Editions

September 2021 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: Maybe We're Electric
Author(s): Val Emmich
ISBN: 0-316-53570-2 / 978-0-316-53570-0 (USA edition)
Publisher: Poppy
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

September 2021 : USA Audio CD
thumb

Title: Maybe We're Electric
Author(s): Val Emmich
ISBN: 1-66860-036-6 / 978-1-66860-036-8 (USA edition)
Publisher: Hachette B and Blackstone Publishing
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


September 2021 : USA Audio CD
thumb

Title: Maybe We're Electric Lib/E
Author(s): Val Emmich
ISBN: 1-66860-034-X / 978-1-66860-034-4 (USA edition)
Publisher: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
Availability: Amazon AU   


September 2021 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: Maybe We're Electric
Author(s): Val Emmich
Publisher: Little, Brown Young Readers
Availability: Amazon   


September 2021 : Australia Audio edition
thumb

Title: Maybe We're Electric
Author(s): Val Emmich
Publisher: Little, Brown Young Readers
Availability: Amazon AU   


September 2021 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: Maybe We're Electric
Author(s): Val Emmich
Publisher: Little, Brown Young Readers
Availability: Amazon CA   


September 2021 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: Maybe We're Electric
Author(s): Val Emmich
Publisher: Little, Brown Young Readers
Availability: Amazon UK   


Kindle Editions

September 2021 : USA, Canada Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Maybe We're Electric
Author(s): Val Emmich
Publisher: Poppy
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA   


September 2021 : Australia, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Maybe We're Electric
Author(s): Val Emmich
Publisher: Poppy
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU