book cover of A Boy and His Dog At the End of the World
Added by 7 of our members

A Boy and His Dog At the End of the World

(2019)
A novel by

 
 
THE MOST POWERFUL STORY YOU'LL READ THIS YEAR.

'You'll remember A Boy and His Dog at the End of the World long after you finish reading'
Peng Shepherd, author of The Book Of M

'Fletcher's suspenseful, atmospheric tale imagines a near future in which our world is in ruins . . . an adventure saga punctured by a gut-punch twist'
Entertainment Weekly

'Truly engrossing . . . brings hope and humanity to a cold and scary world'
Keith Stuart, author of A Boy Made of Blocks

'I promise you're going to love it'
Louisa Morgan, author of A Secret History of Witches

'Epic in scope, enthralling, and full of human warmth'
M. R. Carey, author of The Girl with all the Gifts


THE WORLD HAS ENDED. AT LEAST WE STILL HAVE DOGS.

My name's Griz.
I've never been to school, I've never had friends, in my whole life I've not met enough people to play a game of football. My parents told me how crowded the world used to be, before all the people went away, but we were never lonely on our remote island. We had each other, and our dogs.
Then the thief came.
He told stories of the deserted towns and cities beyond our horizons. I liked him - until I woke to find he had stolen my dog. So I chased him out into the ruins of the world.
I just want to get my dog back, but I found more than I ever imagined was possible. More about how the world ended. More about what my family's real story is. More about what really matters.

'This un-put-down-able story has everything - a well-imagined post-apocalyptic world, great characters, incredible suspense, and, of course, the fierce love of some very good dogs'
Kirkus (starred review)

'A story that is as heart-warming as it is heart-breaking'
Fantasy Hive

'A stunningly gorgeous read: masterful storytelling, searingly beautiful prose, and a world so meticulously rendered you'll forget there's a real one going on beyond the pages. A book of the year contender - in any year'
Micah Yongo

'Extraordinary and quite magnificent . . . 10/10'
Starburst


A Boy and his Dog at the End of the World is the most moving story you'll read this year. Perfect for readers of Life of Pi, The Girl with all the Gifts or Station Eleven - Griz's tale mixes sadness and hope in one unforgettable character's quest amid the remnants of our fragile civilisation.

Genre: Science Fiction

Praise for this book

"Epic in scope, enthralling, and full of human warmth." - M R Carey


Similar books by other authors

thumb
Autumn
(Seasonal, book 1)
Ali Smith

Used availability for C A Fletcher's A Boy and His Dog At the End of the World

Hardback Editions

August 2019 : USA Library Binding

Title: A Boy and His Dog at the End of the World
Author(s): C A Fletcher
ISBN: 1-4328-6764-4 / 978-1-4328-6764-5 (USA edition)
Publisher: Thorndike Press Large Print
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


April 2019 : UK Hardback
thumb

Title: A Boy and his Dog at the End of the World
Author(s): C A Fletcher
ISBN: 0-356-51091-3 / 978-0-356-51091-0 (UK edition)
Publisher: Orbit
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


April 2019 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: A Boy and His Dog at the End of the World: A Novel
Author(s): C A Fletcher
ISBN: 0-316-44945-8 / 978-0-316-44945-8 (USA edition)
Publisher: Orbit
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Paperback Editions

January 2020 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: A Boy and His Dog at the End of the World: A Novel
Author(s): C A Fletcher
ISBN: 0-316-44943-1 / 978-0-316-44943-4 (USA edition)
Publisher: Orbit
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


August 2019 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: A Boy and his Dog at the End of the World
Author(s): C A Fletcher
ISBN: 0-356-51093-X / 978-0-356-51093-4 (UK edition)
Publisher: Orbit
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


April 2019 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: A Boy and his Dog at the End of the World
Author(s): C A Fletcher
ISBN: 0-356-51092-1 / 978-0-356-51092-7 (UK edition)
Publisher: Orbit
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

April 2019 : USA Audio CD
thumb

Title: A Boy and His Dog at the End of the World
Author(s): C a Fletcher
ISBN: 1-5491-7984-5 / 978-1-5491-7984-6 (USA edition)
Publisher: Orbit
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


April 2019 : USA Audio CD
thumb

Title: A Boy and His Dog at the End of the World
Author(s): C A Fletcher
ISBN: 1-5491-7986-1 / 978-1-5491-7986-0 (USA edition)
Publisher: Hachette B and Blackstone Audio
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


April 2019 : Australia Audio edition
thumb

Title: A Boy and his Dog at the End of the World
Author(s): C A Fletcher
Publisher: Hachette Audio UK
Availability: Amazon AU   


April 2019 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: A Boy and his Dog at the End of the World
Author(s): C A Fletcher
Publisher: Hachette Audio UK
Availability: Amazon UK   


April 2019 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: A Boy and His Dog at the End of the World: A Novel
Author(s): C A Fletcher
Publisher: Hachette Audio
Availability: Amazon   


April 2019 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: A Boy and His Dog at the End of the World: A Novel
Author(s): C A Fletcher
Publisher: Hachette Audio
Availability: Amazon CA   


Kindle Editions

April 2019 : Australia, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: A Boy and his Dog at the End of the World
Author(s): C A Fletcher
Publisher: Orbit
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


April 2019 : USA, Canada Kindle edition
thumb

Title: A Boy and His Dog at the End of the World: A Novel
Author(s): C A Fletcher
Publisher: Orbit
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA