New Authors     New Books     Coming Soon     Most Popular     Top Authors    
<< Previous bookNext book >>

Seven Lean Years

(Wait for the Wedding)
A novel by

Seven Lean Years (1961) was Celia Fremlin's third novel of suspense. Its protagonist is Ellen Fortescue, engaged to be married, but oddly uneasy about her approaching wedding. Her fiance Leonard is a man of varying moods, most combustibly where the subject of his stepmother Laura is concerned. Ellen is inclined to a kinder view; but then the woman Ellen calls 'Cousin Laura' does have a complicated history with the Fortescue family...

'Fremlin wraps up her little mystery cunningly in this accomplished thriller-chiller of a book.' Sunday Times

'Fremlin has a quite extraordinary ability for imbuing the normal with intimations of doom-to-come. And when she begins to develop her elegantly horrible climax, the shivers chase each other down one's spine.'Birmingham Post

'Celia Fremlin is about our best hope to compete with the American intelligent superior suspense school.'Observer

Used availability for Celia Fremlin's Seven Lean Years

See all available used copies of this book at Abebooks UK or Abebooks US

Hardback Editions

September 1975 : UK Hardback
thumbTitle: Seven Lean Years
Author(s): Celia Fremlin
ISBN: 0-575-01965-4 / 978-0-575-01965-2 (UK edition)
Publisher: Littlehampton Book Services Ltd
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

Paperback Editions

January 2014 : UK Paperback
thumbTitle: Seven Lean Years
Author(s): Celia Fremlin
ISBN: 0-571-31293-4 / 978-0-571-31293-1 (UK edition)
Publisher: Faber and Faber
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   

Kindle Editions

January 2014 : UK Kindle edition
thumbTitle: Seven Lean Years
Author(s): Celia Fremlin
Publisher: Faber & Faber
Availability: Amazon UK   

Search for