book cover of She Died Unshriven
Added by 2 of our members

She Died Unshriven

(2019)
(The first book in the Constable Thomas Lincraft Mystery series)
A Novella by

 
 
Constable Thomas Lincraft Mystery Series: Book 1

"An entertaining and lively mystery, which delves into the murky world of crime and the justice system in provincial Elizabethan England." Paul Walker, author of State of Treason

Nottingham, 1571.

Coroner Sir Henry Greville is conducting an inquest, following the discovery of the body of a girl, and he wants a quick and conclusive verdict. The victim is believed to have been promiscuous domestic servant Amy Brindley. The scant evidence implicates her former employer.

Constable Thomas Lincraft is not convinced, and begins his own search for the truth, even though he risks being dismissed from his office by doing so.

However, Thomas Lincraft is no ordinary Constable. His tenacity and intelligence provide him with a fierce sense of justice - and his deeply held religious beliefs shape his attitude towards the investigation.

As the Constable begins to gather evidence and interview fresh witnesses, Lincraft uncovers secrets that others would prefer to keep hidden.

But the truth - and murder - will out, leading to a shocking revelation.

She Died Unshriven is the first in a series of mysteries featuring Constable Thomas Lincraft.

Recommended for fans of CJ Sansom, Rory Clements and S. J. Parris.

Author David Field is a retired criminal lawyer who now writes full-time. He is also the author of the contemporary crime series of novels featuring investigator DCI Mike Saxby. The first book in the series is Seventeen Cavendish Place.

Genre: Historical

Praise for this book

"An entertaining and lively mystery, which delves into the murky world of crime and the justice system in provincial Elizabethan England." - Paul Walker


Similar books by other authors

thumb
State of Treason
(William Constable Spy, book 1)
Paul Walker
thumb
The King's Witch
(Frances Gorges Historical Trilogy, book 1)
Tracy Borman

Used availability for David Field's She Died Unshriven

Paperback Editions

July 2019 : Paperback
thumb

Title: She Died Unshriven: A Constable Thomas Lincraft Mystery
Author(s): David Field
ISBN: 1-08-091102-2 / 978-1-08-091102-8
Publisher: Independently published
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Kindle Editions

June 2019 : USA, Australia, Canada, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: She Died Unshriven (Constable Thomas Lincraft Mystery Series Book 1)
Author(s): David Field
Publisher: Sharpe Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU