book cover of Last Summer at the Golden Hotel
Added by 26 members
 

Last Summer at the Golden Hotel

(2021)
A novel by

 
 
A Good Morning America Buzz Pick
A Can’t-Miss Beach Read For Summer 2021 from The Skimm
A Best Beach Read of 2021 from Bustle
A Best Summer Read of 2021 from PopSugar

A family reunion for the ages when two clans convene for the summer at their beloved getaway in the Catskills—perfect for fans of
Dirty Dancing and The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel—from the acclaimed author of The Floating Feldmans.

In its heyday, The Golden Hotel was the crown jewel of the hotter-than-hot Catskills vacation scene. For more than sixty years, the Goldman and Weingold families – best friends and business partners – have presided over this glamorous resort which served as a second home for well-heeled guests and celebrities. But the Catskills are not what they used to be – and neither is the relationship between the Goldmans and the Weingolds. As the facilities and management begin to fall apart, a tempting offer to sell forces the two families together again to make a heart-wrenching decision. Can they save their beloved Golden or is it too late?

Long-buried secrets emerge, new dramas and financial scandal erupt, and everyone from the traditional grandparents to the millennial grandchildren wants a say in the hotel’s future. Business and pleasure clash in this fast-paced, hilarious, nostalgia-filled story, where the hotel owners rediscover the magic of a bygone era of nonstop fun even as they grapple with what may be their last resort.



Genre: General Fiction

Praise for this book

"Chock full of charm and wit, Elyssa Friedland’s Last Summer at the Golden Hotel is the only family drama you need this year! Set in a ramshackle Catskills hotel and featuring a vibrant cast of characters, it’s a laugh out loud funny novel with a heart of gold." - Karma Brown

"You will laugh out loud at the antics of two delightfully dysfunctional families as they fight, share secrets, and fall in love in the once-prosperous Catskills hotel that they own. Once again, Friedland brilliantly wields her rapier wit – if Dorothy Parker and Joan Rivers wrote a book, this would be it!" - Fiona Davis

"Long known for her humor and wit, Elyssa Friedland has penned a charmer of a novel in Last Summer at the Golden Hotel, a story about two families who own a resort in the Catskills, which was a crown jewel in its heyday but is now in decline. Fans of Mrs. Maisel and Dirty Dancing will revel in the nostalgia of a bygone era and the richness of this intergenerational tale, which manages to be smart, funny, honest and poignant all at the same time." - Pam Jenoff

"Prepare to laugh. Take a trip to the Catskills with Last Summer at the Golden Hotel and bask in the hilarity and chaos that make Elyssa Friedland the queen of the family drama." - Jane L Rosen

"In The Last Summer at the Golden Hotel, Elyssa Friedland creates a broad cast of characters who are at once touching and hilarious. Their fears, their secrets, and their dreams come together in a moving story that balances nostalgia for the past and hope for the future. A perfect book for a family book club." - Jill Santopolo


Visitors also looked at these books


Used availability for Elyssa Friedland's Last Summer at the Golden Hotel


About Fantastic Fiction       Information for Authors