book cover of Gathering Clouds

Gathering Clouds

(The second book in the Johann's War series)
A novel by

"After five years they had found freedom again."

Adolf Hitler has swept into power and already the democratic mechanisms of the old Weimar Republic have been dismantled. Nazi Germany has risen and Hitler already has his eyes on expanding the Third Reich. Jews, communists, gypsies, and homosexuals are all targets for the new regime.

Now in Berlin, Erich is appointed to the SS, where he works with Reinhard Heydrich's Gestapo to make the country fall into line. But haunted by the murder he committed to prove his loyalty to the Reich, Erich is close to crumbling. Only his wife Hannah and new son Heinrich give him reason to keep on going, but when Sabrina Waldner comes into his life he risks everything by beginning a sordid affair.

Elsewhere, the first concentration camps form and the endless supply of prisoners are worked and beaten to death. Oliver Rosen finds himself caught in the middle, but years later he's still alive in Dachau. Why did they let him live? What's so special about him?

The truth is as confusing as it is relieving. Could it be a decision Erich comes to regret?

Genre: Thriller

Used availability for James Farner's Gathering Clouds

Kindle Editions

September 2016 : USA, Australia, Canada, UK Kindle edition

Title: Gathering Clouds (Johann's War Book 2)
Author(s): James Farner
Publisher: James Farner Publishing
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU