Len Deighton's picture

Len Deighton

(Leonard Cyril Deighton)
UK flag (b.1929)

Len Deighton was born in London in 1929. He worked as a railway clerk before doing his National Service as a photographer attached to the Special Investigation Branch. After his discharge in 1949, he went to art school- first to the St Martin's School of Art, and then to the Royal College of Art on a Scholarship. It was a while working as a waiter in the evenings that he developed an interest in cookery - a subject he was later to make his own in an animated strip for the Observer and in two cookery books. He worked for a while as an illustrator in New York and as art director of an advertising agency in London.

Deciding it was time to settle down, Deighton moved to the Dordogne where he started work on his first book, The Ipcress file. Published in 1962, the book was an immediate and spectacular succes.

Genres: Thriller
Bernard Samson
   0. Winter (1987)
   1. Berlin Game (1983)
   2. Mexico Set (1984)
   3. London Match (1985)
   4. Spy Hook (1988)
   5. Spy Line (1989)
   6. Spy Sinker (1990)
   7. Faith (1994)
   8. Hope (1995)
   9. Charity (1996)
Non fiction
   Action Cook Book (1965)
     aka Cookstrip Cookbook
   Ou est le Garlic? (1965)
     aka Basic French Cooking
   Fighter (1977)
   Airship Wreck (1979) (with Arnold Schwartzman)
   Blitzkrieg (1979)
   Battle of Britain (1980)
   ABC of French Food (1989)
   Blood, Tears and Folly (1993)
   Len Deighton's French Cooking for Men (2010)
Anthologies containing stories by Len Deighton
no image available
Short stories
Winter's Morning (1971)

Len Deighton recommends
The Blooding of the Guns (1976)
(Nicholas Everard, book 1)
Alexander Fullerton
"The most meticulously researched war novels that I have ever read."
An Exchange of Eagles (1977)
Owen Sela
"A magnificent action-packed thriller... places Sela with Innes and Maclean."
Side-Effect (1979)
(Presidential, book 2)
Raymond Hawkey
"Compulsively readable, brilliantly researched and chilling as tomorrow's headlines."
Things Invisible (1989)
(Nebraska Mystery, book 4)
William J Reynolds
"An exciting new mystery talent."
Day of Absolution (2000)
John Gardner
"Gardner is a master storyteller."

Visitors also looked at these authors

About Fantastic Fiction       Information for Authors