New Authors     New Books     Coming Soon     Most Popular     Top Authors    
     New Books     Coming Soon     
book cover of Sapphire and Shadow

Sapphire and Shadow

(1991)
A novel by

 
 
Entertainment Weekly named Marie the fifth most prolific Romance Writer in their Oct. 24th edition--after Barbara Cartland and Ursula Bloom!
USA Today and Publisher's Weekly bestselling author Marie Ferrarella is releasing her three hard-to-find women's contemporary novels written in the tradition of Danielle Steel, Nora Roberts and Debbie Macomber. Finally available again, these heart-tugging stories explore the tangled emotional lives of three women. Presenting the first, SAPPHIRE AND SHADOW.

"A look at the grit beneath the glitz and one woman's triumph over both"--Nora Roberts

They could have had it all.

Johanna Whitney does seem to have it all--beauty, intelligence, talent, and a rich husband whose genius has created stunning films. What she is desperately trying to cover up is just how tragically that life is coming unraveled. Her husband's drug use, fueled by his fear of being unable to replicate his success, renders him incapable of showing her the love she once gave up everything for. Her closest friend is killed in a plane crash and even her daughter seems to prefer her husband's latest young lover to her own mother. The harder Johanna works at trying to patch the holes of her life, the more things come undone.

It all comes to a head on location in London. Johanna watches happiness slipping away and turns for comfort to a young British artisan. He tries to teach her to love herself again, and to dare to reach for happiness. Though he manages to awaken her emotions, her husband's drug arrest in Italy and her daughter's sudden illness make her realize she needs to go home--not to Los Angeles, but to New York.

Leaving all the wealth and influence she's been living with behind, she and her daughter feel like refugees as they search for a place to live and a way to make a living. Both needs are answered when they find shelter with an old friend and colleague in his art gallery. Johanna is back to her roots in the art world, but she's been gone a long time and she searches to find ways to heal and blossom. Even more difficult is the struggle to release her heart from the chains of fear and learn to love again.

    

Similar Books by other authors...

thumb
Irresistible Forces
Marie Michaels
thumb
Smoldering Embers
Marie Charles

Used availability for Marie Ferrarella's Sapphire and Shadow

Paperback Editions

June 1994 : USA Mass Market Paperback
thumb

Title: Sapphire and Shadow
Author(s): Marie Ferrarella
ISBN: 0-06-108293-7 / 978-0-06-108293-1 (USA edition)
Publisher: HarperPrism
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


September 1991 : USA Mass Market Paperback
thumb

Title: Sapphire and Shadow
Author(s): Marie Ferrarella
ISBN: 0-06-100241-0 / 978-0-06-100241-0 (USA edition)
Publisher: Harpercollins
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


Kindle Editions

May 2014 : USA, Canada, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Sapphire and Shadow (A Woman's Life Book 1)
Author(s): Marie Ferrarella
Publisher:
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA