New Authors     New Books     Coming Soon     Most Popular     Top Authors    
<< Previous bookNext book >>

E-Force

(2012)
A collection of stories by

 
For fans of Walter Mosley, Nalo Hopkinson, Philip K. Dick, Linton Kwesi Johnson, John Gardner, Chuck D., and Steven Barnes comes E-Force: Sixteen Stories of Pure Freaking Awesomeness, including a companion story to Minister Faust's acclaimed novel The Alchemists of Kush.

Containing all the stories collected in A Bad Bad Beat Was Brewing and Journey to Mecha, E-Force is the definitive short fiction collection by Minister Faust, an author increasingly described as one of the best writers of his generation.

E-Force presents sixteen wide-ranging stories, including the hilarious, the terrifying, the mystical and the compassionate.

Behold anti-colonial liberation struggle at the cosmic level ("The Sun Dogs"), philosophical explorations of the nature of organic and artificial intelligence ("Droplets of Thought"), the hypocrisy that afflicts human communities ("Shecky the Green Pig"), a revisionist take on D.W. Griffith's Birth of a Nation ("The Worth of a Nation"), and a Grendel-style psychohistory of ancient Egypt's founding myth ("The Belly of the Crocodile," a companion story to Minister Faust's novel The Alchemists of Kush), among many others.

E-Force is an astonishing journey by a visionary author.

PRAISE FOR MINISTER FAUST

ROBERT J. SAWYER, author of Wake: "A stylistic tour de force. The characters are unfor-gettable, the slang infectious, and the whole thing is just incredibly charming."

CHARLES SAUNDERS, author of Imaro: "A few pages in, I was hooked - not only by the quality of the prose, but also by its sheer audacity.... In the Minister's hands, Edmonton becomes as lively and lethal as New York and Los Angeles put together.... A brilliant first novel..... Minister Faust... is shaping up to become a one-man New Wave in the SF genre."

RICHARD MORGAN, author of Market Forces: "Outstanding, like nothing I've ever read in the genre ... in fact Minister Faust has pretty much invented his own genre. Full of surprises, caring and heartfelt. I'm kind of envious of what he's done here. Really edgy unpleasantness ... up there with the best of them."

NALO HOPKINSON, author of Midnight Robber: "Off the freakin hook. Funky... with heart, style, humour, and attitude to spare."

TANANARIVE DUE, author of The Living Blood: "Incredibly imaginative and bulging with pop culture and political references, this is a trip unlike anything you've ever read. Endlessly entertaining."

ERNEST DICKERSON, director, Juice, Demon Knight, Never Die Alone, The Wire: "Minister Faust is Samuel Delaney, Harlan Ellison and Ishmael Reed all rolled into one. His writing is biting, insightful and hugely entertaining." THE NEW YORK TIMES: "A jumpy, hold-nothing-back style... . Faust anatomizes [the Edmonton setting] with the same loving care Joyce brought to early-20th-century Dublin... . fresh and stylish entertainment."

KIRKUS REVIEWS and THE HOLLYWOOD REPORTER: "Like Kevin Smith as if he'd grown up in an African immigrant neighborhood-just as comic- and pop culture-obsessed but with a dose of righteous ethnic minority fury."

THE OTTAWA CITIZEN; NATIONAL POST; CANWEST NEWS SERVICES and CITIZEN NEWS SERVICES: "The most exciting Canadian debut in decades."

PUBLISHERS WEEKLY: "The dense writing, the ponderings on the nature of reality and a complex plot that all comes together at the end... will remind some readers of Neal Stephenson [and] represents a sharp-edged new voice in the genre."

ASIMOV MAGAZINE: "Defies all expectations.... A very interesting new voice, bringing perspectives well outside the usual assumptions of genre SF to his work. Faust is obviously someone to watch."

 
Used availability for Minister Faust's E-Force


See all available used copies of this book at Abebooks UK or Abebooks US
 

Paperback Editions

June 2012 : Canada Paperback
Title: E-Force: Sixteen Stories of Ultra-Freaking Awesomeness
Author(s): Minister Faust
ISBN: 1-927081-02-5 / 978-1-927081-02-0 (Canada edition)
Publisher: Narmer's Palette
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

Kindle Editions

November 2013 : USA, Canada, UK Kindle edition
Title: E-Force: Sixteen Stories of Ultra-Freaking Awesomeness
Author(s): Minister Faust
Publisher: Narmer's Palette
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   



Search for