Vonda N McIntyre's picture

Vonda N McIntyre

(Vonda Neel McIntyre)
USA flag (1948 - 2019)

Vonda Neel McIntyre was a U.S. science fiction author. She was one of the first successful graduates of the Clarion Science fiction writers workshop. She attended the workshop in 1970. By 1973 she had won her first Nebula Award, for the novelette "Of Mist, and Grass and Sand." This later became part of the novel Dreamsnake, which won both the Hugo and Nebula Awards. The novelette and novel both concern a female healer in a desolate primitivized venue. McIntyre's debut novel was The Exile Waiting which was published in 1975. Her novel Dreamsnake won the Nebula Award and Hugo Award for best novel in 1978 and her novel The Moon and the Sun won the Nebula in 1997. She has also written a number of Star Trek and Star Wars novels, including Enterprise: The First Adventure and The Entropy Effect. She wrote the novelizations of the films Star Trek II: The Wrath of Khan, Star Trek III: The Search for Spock, and Star Trek IV: The Voyage Home.

Genres: Science Fiction
   1. Starfarers (1989)
   2. Transition (1990)
   3. Metaphase (1992)
   4. Nautilus (1994)
   The Exile Waiting (1975)
   Dreamsnake (1978)
   Superluminal (1983)
   The Bride (1985)
   Barbary (1986)
   Screwtop (1989)
   The Moon and the Sun (1997)
   The Crystal Ship (1976) (with Marta Randall)
   Fireflood (1978)
   Outcasts (2013)
Novellas and Short Stories
Anthologies edited
   Aurora: Beyond Equality (1976) (with Susan Janice Anderson)
Series contributed to
Star Trek : Movies
   2. The Wrath of Khan (1982)
   3. The Search for Spock (1984)
   4. The Voyage Home (1986)
Omnibus editions show
Vonda N McIntyre recommends
The Last Good Man (2017)
Linda Nagata
"The Last Good Man is a compelling and subversive novel, told by unique characters, especially True Brighton: sympathetic, prickly, determined, all too human. Linda Nagata has impressive insights into technological advances and their potential effects.... It was a privilege to read TLGM before its publication."
Absalom's Mother and Other Stories (2007)
Louise Marley
"Spirited and spiritual."
The Many-Coloured Land (1981)
(Pliocene Exiles, book 1)
Julian May
"Vivid...I stayed up two nights running to finish it. The book grips the reader and doesn't let go."

More recommendations 

Anthologies containing stories by Vonda N McIntyre
The Last Dangerous Visions (2024)
(Dangerous Visions, book 3)
edited by
Harlan Ellison
Sense of Wonder (2023)
A Century of Science Fiction
edited by
Leigh Ronald Grossman
More Alternative Truths (2017)
Stories from the Resistance
(Alternative Truths, book 2)
edited by
Lou J Berger, Bob Brown, Rebecca McFarland Kyle and Phyllis Irene Radford

More anthologies 

Hugo Best Short Story nominee (1974) : Wings
Nebula Awards Best Novellette winner (1974) : Of Mist, and Grass, and Sand
Nebula Awards Best Short Story nominee (1974) : Wings
Nebula Awards Best Novel nominee (1976) : The Exile Waiting
Hugo Best Novella nominee (1978) : Aztecs
Nebula Awards Best Novella nominee (1978) : Aztecs
Hugo Best Novel winner (1979) : Dreamsnake
Nebula Awards Best Novel winner (1979) : Dreamsnake
Hugo Best Novellette nominee (1980) : Fireflood [short story]
Nebula Awards Best Novella nominee (1984) : Transit
Nebula Awards Best Novel winner (1998) : The Moon and the Sun

Visitors also looked at these authors

About Fantastic Fiction       Information for Authors