book cover of Alive in the Rose City

Alive in the Rose City

(2019)
(The second book in the Dean Drake Mystery series)
A novel by

 
 
From award-winning literary criminologist and bestselling crime novelist R. Barri Flowers, author of the acclaimed Dean Drake hard-boiled audio mystery Dead in the Rose City, comes the much-anticipated sequel, Alive in the Rose City (Dean Drake Mysteries, Book 2).

Dean Jeremy Drake, a six-five, biracial private eye, nicknamed D.J., is once again up to his neck in danger, deception, and murder as he works three cases in Portland, Oregon, in the mid-1990s.

The former Police Bureau homicide detective reluctantly agrees to be the bodyguard for a gorgeous lady named Bailey Carlyle, who claims to be on the run from her abusive boyfriend. When the boyfriend turns up dead and is identified as running a high-end call girl operation, the authorities point the finger at Bailey as a leading suspect in his murder, labeling her a jealous and vindictive prostitute. As he is seemingly her alibi, Drake works to prove Bailey's innocence or guilt, possibly to his own detriment.

He also looks into the alleged suicide of former gang member, Liam Henriquez, on behalf of his grief-stricken grandmother, who insists he would never have taken his own life. The police think otherwise, attributing the death to either depression or issues related to his old life.

Lastly, Drake searches for a missing college student, Olivia McNamara, who is presumed dead by the police after disappearing without a trace months ago. Only her mother and stepfather believe she is still alive and hire Drake to try and prove it.

Packing a .40 caliber Glock, along with sharp detective skills, raw nerve, and gut instincts, Drake follows the clues wherever they may lead with a never-quit attitude, in spite of the obstacles and peril that he faces the closer he gets to solving the cases.

For fans of Dead in the Rose City, PI Dean Drake will be equally entertaining in Alive in the Rose City.

Bonus material include a complete mystery short, "The Wrong End of a Gun," and excerpts of other crime novels by the author.

Genre: Mystery

Similar books by other authors

thumb
A Merciful Fate
(Mercy Kilpatrick, book 5)
Kendra Elliot
thumb
Blood for Blood
(Ziba Mackenzie, book 1)
Victoria Selman

Used availability for R Barri Flowers's Alive in the Rose City

Paperback Editions

February 2019 : Paperback
thumb

Title: Alive in the Rose City
Author(s): R Barri Flowers
ISBN: 1-79566-487-8 / 978-1-79566-487-5
Publisher: Independently published
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

February 2019 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: Alive in the Rose City: Dean Drake Mystery Series, Book 2
Author(s): R Barri Flowers
Publisher: R Barri Flowers
Availability: Amazon   


February 2019 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: Alive in the Rose City: Dean Drake Mystery Series, Book 2
Author(s): R Barri Flowers
Publisher: R Barri Flowers
Availability: Amazon CA   


February 2019 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: Alive in the Rose City: Dean Drake Mystery Series, Book 2
Author(s): R Barri Flowers
Publisher: R Barri Flowers
Availability: Amazon UK   


Kindle Editions

January 2019 : USA, Australia, Canada, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Alive in the Rose City (Dean Drake Mysteries Book 2)
Author(s): R Barri Flowers
Publisher: Paradise House Press
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU