book cover of Son of Rome
Added by 5 of our members

Son of Rome

(2013)
(The first book in the Augustus series)
A novel by

 
 
'The coming man of historical fiction.' Saul David

For anyone who has enjoyed the bestselling Augustus books and Sword of Rome titles please check out the new Spies of Rome series by Richard Foreman, featuring Marcus Agrippa and Augustus Caesar. Book one - Spies of Rome: Blood & Honour - is currently on promotion. Recommended for fans of Steven Saylor and Conn Iggulden.

Richard Foreman, the author of the bestselling Raffles: The Gentleman Thief books, blends the political intrigue of Robert Harris' series of Cicero novels with the action and adventure of Simon Scarrow in this sweeping historical epic.

Augustus: Son of Rome tells the story of the assassination of Julius Caesar and the rise of his heir, Gaius Octavius, as he journeys to Rome from Apollonia. We see a boy grow into a man as Octavius develops the moral courage, intelligence and ruthlessness that will finally see him become Augustus, Emperor of Rome.

The pen and sword will be employed to defeat his enemies and Octavius will earn the name of "Caesar".

Yet Rome will exact its price - and triumph will be accompanied by tragedy.

Julius Caesar, Cicero, Cleopatra, Mark Antony, Brutus and Marcus Agrippa all feature in this epic adventure, which will appeal to fans of Shakespeare, Plutarch and Conn Iggulden alike.

Author bio:

Richard Foreman is the bestselling author of numerous historical series set during the Roman Republic and Roman Empire, including the Augustus Caesar books, Sword of Empire, Sword of Rome and Spies of Rome. He is also the author Warsaw, Raffles: The Complete Innings and Band of Brothers, a series charting the story of Henry V and the Agincourt campaign. Richard writes modern thrillers too, under the pseudonym of Thomas Waugh. He is a judge for the HWA Crowns and the founder of the London History Festival. He lives in London.

Praise for Richard Foreman's books:

Spies of Rome.

'A masterful and evocative depiction of a fledgling imperial Rome fraught with intrigue and at war with itself. The story and characters are as striking as the graffiti that adorns the violent city's walls during Augustus' rise.' Steven Veerapen, author of The Abbey Close

'An arresting opening that leads into a thoroughly gripping story. Impressive research and understanding of the period allows Richard Foreman to move so seamlessly and effectively from historical epic to historical detective thriller. A must read for fans of Steven Saylor.' Peter Tonkin, author of The Ides

'Original and hard-hitting... Rome burns with intrigue in this totally unputdownable book.' Antony Cutler, author of The Accursed

Augustus: Son of Rome.

'Augustus: Son of Rome forges action and adventure with politics and philosophy. This superb story is drenched in both blood and wisdom - and puts Foreman on the map as the coming man of historical fiction'. Saul David, Author of the Zulu Hart series

Raffles: The Complete Innings.

'Classy, humorous and surprisingly touching tales of cricket, friendship and crime.' David Blackburn, The Spectator

Band of Brothers: The Complete Campaigns.

'Escapism at its best... A great read that tells much about the style of war and how the individuals fought.' Michael Jecks

'A rattling good yarn, requiring only the minimum of suspension of belief, and leaves one eagerly anticipating the next instalment of the adventures of the team as they accompany the King to Harfleur.' Major Gordon Corrigan, author of A Great and Glorious Adventure: A Military History of the Hundred Years War

Genre: Historical

Similar books by other authors

thumb
The March
(Forgotten Legion Chronicles)
Ben Kane
thumb
Tides of War
(Marius' Mules, book 11)
S J A Turney

Used availability for Richard Foreman's Son of Rome

Paperback Editions

July 2018 : Paperback
thumb

Title: Augustus: Son of Rome
Author(s): Richard Foreman
ISBN: 1-980483-59-0 / 978-1-980483-59-5
Publisher: Independently published
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


March 2017 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: Augustus: Son of Rome (Augustus Series)
Author(s): Richard Foreman
ISBN: 1-911445-25-1 / 978-1-911445-25-8 (UK edition)
Publisher: Endeavour Press
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


February 2013 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: Augustus: Son of Rome
Author(s): Richard Foreman
ISBN: 1-4792-2452-9 / 978-1-4792-2452-4 (USA edition)
Publisher: CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


Kindle Editions

March 2018 : USA, Australia, Canada, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Augustus: Son of Rome (Augustus Series)
Author(s): Richard Foreman
Publisher: Sharpe Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU