book cover of Pharaoh
Added by 35 of our members

Pharaoh

(2013)
(The seventh book in the Jack Howard series)
A novel by

 
 
Perfect for fans of Clive Cussler and Dan Brown, Pharaoh is a pulse-pounding new adventure starring intrepid marine archaeologist Jack Howard, on the trail of a shattering revelation about an ancient secret buried deep under the Egyptian pyramids.
 
1351 BC: Akhenaten the Sun-Pharaoh rules supreme in Egypt . . . until the day he casts off his crown and mysteriously disappears into the desert, his legacy seemingly swallowed up by the remote sands beneath the Great Pyramids of Giza.
 
AD 1884: A British soldier serving in the Sudan stumbles upon an incredible discovery—a submerged temple containing evidence of a terrifying religion whose god was fed by human sacrifice. The soldier is on a mission to reach General Gordon before Khartoum falls. But he hides a secret of his own.
 
Present day: Jack Howard and his team are excavating one of the most amazing underwater sites they have ever encountered, but dark forces are watching to see what they will find. Diving into the Nile, they enter a world three thousand years back in history, inhabited by a people who have sworn to guard the greatest secret of all time.

Praise for Pharaoh
 
“[David Gibbins’s] love of archaeology and of diving really brings these books to life. . . . Add to this . . . a true passion for history and a writing skill that has grown book by book. By the time we get to Pharaoh the series is a serious example of how this genre should be written; it does not get much better than this. . . . Gibbins makes the astounding seem more than plausible, he writes the history in such a way that the myth feels factual or at least highly plausible, and it’s more that just places and names; it’s a philosophical undertone to the extended plot, to the ethos of Jack Howard and his search for the facts and the truth. . . . History, mystery and myth all brought together to astound the reading senses . . . a true leader of his genre and his art.”Parmenion Books
 
“Utterly absorbing . . . When the adventure is as exciting as it is here, it is too good not to be allowed to speak for itself. . . . Put aside your assumptions of what a thriller should be and instead immerse yourself in one of the best historical adventures you’ll read this year.”For Winter Nights
 
Praise for David Gibbins
 
“What do you get if you cross Indiana Jones with Dan Brown? Answer: David Gibbins.”Daily Mirror (U.K.), on Atlantis
 
“An exciting mix of fact and fiction, with shades of Clive Cussler and Indiana Jones.”—York Evening Press, on Crusader Gold

Genre: Thriller

Similar books by other authors


Used availability for David Gibbins's Pharaoh

Hardback Editions

May 2013 : UK Hardback
thumb

Title: Pharaoh (Jack Howard 7)
Author(s): David Gibbins
ISBN: 0-7553-5401-X / 978-0-7553-5401-6 (UK edition)
Publisher: Headline
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Paperback Editions

September 2013 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: Pharaoh
Author(s): David Gibbins
ISBN: 0-7553-9947-1 / 978-0-7553-9947-5 (UK edition)
Publisher: Headline
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


September 2013 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: Pharaoh (Jack Howard 7)
Author(s): David Gibbins
ISBN: 0-7553-5403-6 / 978-0-7553-5403-0 (UK edition)
Publisher: Headline
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


October 2013 : Paperback
thumb

Title: [(Pharaoh)] [Author: David Gibbins] published on (October, 2013)
Author(s): David Gibbins
Publisher: Dell Publishing Company
Availability: Amazon UK   


October 2013 : USA Mass Market Paperback
thumb

Title: Pharaoh: A Novel (Jack Howard)
Author(s): David Gibbins
ISBN: 0-345-53470-0 / 978-0-345-53470-5 (USA edition)
Publisher: Dell
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


September 2013 : Paperback
thumb

Title: [Pharaoh] (By: David Gibbins) [published: September, 2013]
Author(s): David Gibbins
Publisher: Headline Book Publishing
Availability: Amazon UK   


May 2013 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: Pharaoh
Author(s): David Gibbins
ISBN: 0-7553-5402-8 / 978-0-7553-5402-3 (UK edition)
Publisher: Headline
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


May 2013 : Paperback
thumb

Title: [(Pharaoh)] [ By (author) David Gibbins ] [May, 2013]
Author(s): David Gibbins
Publisher: Headline Book Publishing
Availability: Amazon UK   


Audio Editions

March 2021 : Audio CD
thumb

Title: Pharaoh: A Novel (Jack Howard)
Author(s): David Gibbins
Publisher: Tantor and Blackstone Publishing
Availability: Amazon   


March 2021 : Audio CD
thumb

Title: Pharaoh: A Novel: 7
Author(s): David Gibbins
Publisher: Tantor and Blackstone Publishing
Availability: Amazon   Amazon AU   


January 2015 : USA Audio CD
thumb

Title: Pharaoh (Jack Howard, 7)
Author(s): David Gibbins
ISBN: 1-4945-0433-2 / 978-1-4945-0433-5 (USA edition)
Publisher: Tantor Audio
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   


January 2015 : USA MP3 CD
thumb

Title: Pharaoh (Jack Howard, 7)
Author(s): David Gibbins
ISBN: 1-4945-5433-X / 978-1-4945-5433-0 (USA edition)
Publisher: Tantor Audio
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


January 2015 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: Pharaoh: Jack Howard, Book 7
Author(s): David Gibbins
Publisher: Tantor Audio
Availability: Amazon   


May 2013 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: Pharaoh: Jack Howard, Book 7
Author(s): David Gibbins
Publisher: Headline Digital
Availability: Amazon   


May 2013 : Australia Audio edition
thumb

Title: Pharaoh: Jack Howard, Book 7
Author(s): David Gibbins
Publisher: Headline Digital
Availability: Amazon AU   


May 2013 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: Pharaoh: Jack Howard, Book 7
Author(s): David Gibbins
Publisher: Headline Digital
Availability: Amazon CA   


May 2013 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: Pharaoh: Jack Howard, Book 7
Author(s): David Gibbins
Publisher: Headline Digital
Availability: Amazon UK   


Kindle Editions

October 2013 : USA Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Pharaoh: A Novel (Jack Howard Series Book 7)
Author(s): David Gibbins
Publisher: Dell
Availability: Amazon   


May 2013 : Canada Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Pharaoh
Author(s): David Gibbins
Publisher: Headline
Availability: Amazon CA   


May 2013 : Australia, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Pharaoh (Jack Howard Series Book 7)
Author(s): David Gibbins
Publisher: Headline
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU