book cover of The Vanishing Box
Added by 27 of our members

The Vanishing Box

(2017)
(The fourth book in the Stephens and Mephisto Mystery series)
A novel by

 
 
What do a murdered Brighton flower seller, the death of Cleopatra and a nude tableau show have in common? One thing's for sure - it could be the most dangerous case yet for Stephens and Mephisto.

The fourth Stephens and Mephisto mystery from the author of the best-selling Dr Ruth Galloway series - a must-listen for fans of Bryant and May.

Christmas 1953. Max Mephisto and his daughter, Ruby, are headlining Brighton Hippodrome, an achievement only slightly marred by the less-than-savoury support act: a tableau show of naked 'living statues'.

This might appear to have nothing in common with DI Edgar Stephens' investigation into the death of a quiet flower seller, but if there's one thing the old comrades have learned it's that in Brighton, the line between art and life - and death - is all too easily blurred....

Genre: Historical Mystery

Similar books by other authors

thumb
A Bitter Feast
(Duncan Kincaid / Gemma James, book 18)
Deborah Crombie
thumb
A Better Man
(Chief Inspector Gamache, book 15)
Louise Penny
thumb
The Long Call
(Two Rivers, book 1)
Ann Cleeves

Used availability for Elly Griffiths's The Vanishing Box

Hardback Editions

October 2018 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: The Vanishing Box (Magic Men Mysteries)
Author(s): Elly Griffiths
ISBN: 0-544-75029-2 / 978-0-544-75029-6 (USA edition)
Publisher: Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


October 2017 : UK Hardback
thumb

Title: The Vanishing Box: The Brighton Mysteries 4
Author(s): Elly Griffiths
ISBN: 1-78429-700-3 / 978-1-78429-700-8 (UK edition)
Publisher: Quercus
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


November 2017 : UK Hardback

Title: Vanishing Box Signed Edition
Author(s): Elly Griffiths
ISBN: 1-4726-2406-8 / 978-1-4726-2406-2 (UK edition)
Publisher: Quercus
Availability: Amazon UK   


Paperback Editions

October 2019 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: The Vanishing Box (Magic Men Mysteries)
Author(s): Elly Griffiths
ISBN: 0-358-10846-2 / 978-0-358-10846-7 (USA edition)
Publisher: Mariner Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


October 2018 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: The Vanishing Box: The Brighton Mysteries 4
Author(s): Elly Griffiths
ISBN: 1-78429-702-X / 978-1-78429-702-2 (UK edition)
Publisher: Quercus
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


October 2017 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: The Vanishing Box: The Brighton Mysteries 4
Author(s): Elly Griffiths
ISBN: 1-78429-701-1 / 978-1-78429-701-5 (UK edition)
Publisher: Quercus
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

December 2017 : UK Audio CD
thumb

Title: The Vanishing Box: Stephens and Mephisto Mystery 4 (Stephens and Mephisto Mysteryseries)
Author(s): Elly Griffiths
ISBN: 1-5100-8753-2 / 978-1-5100-8753-8 (UK edition)
Publisher: WholeStory Audiobooks
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


November 2017 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Vanishing Box: The Brighton Mysteries, Book 4
Author(s): Elly Griffiths
Publisher: Quercus
Availability: Amazon   


November 2017 : Australia Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Vanishing Box: The Brighton Mysteries, Book 4
Author(s): Elly Griffiths
Publisher: Quercus
Availability: Amazon AU   


November 2017 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Vanishing Box: The Brighton Mysteries, Book 4
Author(s): Elly Griffiths
Publisher: Quercus
Availability: Amazon UK   


Kindle Editions

October 2018 : USA, Canada Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Vanishing Box (Magic Men Mysteries Book 4)
Author(s): Elly Griffiths
Publisher: Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA   


November 2017 : Australia, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Vanishing Box: The Brighton Mysteries 4
Author(s): Elly Griffiths
Publisher: Quercus
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU