book cover of The Parting Glass
Added by 1 of our members

The Parting Glass

(2019)
A novel by

 
 
Downton Abbey meets Gangs of New York…a gem of a novel to be inhaled in one gulp” (Kate Quinn, New York Times bestselling author) about a devoted maid whose secretive world is about to be ripped apart at the seams—a lush and evocative debut set in 19th century New York that’s perfect for fans of Sarah Waters’s Fingersmith and Emma Donoghue’s Slammerkin.

By day, Mary Ballard is dutiful lady’s maid to Charlotte Walden, a wealthy and accomplished belle of New York City high society. But Charlotte would never trust Mary again if she knew the truth about her devoted servant’s past.

On her nights off, Mary sheds her persona as prim and proper lady’s maid to reveal her true self—Irish exile Maire O’Farren. She finds release from her frustration in New York’s gritty underworld—in the arms of a prostitute and as drinking companion to a decidedly motley crew consisting of members of a dangerous secret society.

Meanwhile, Charlotte has a secret of her own—she’s having an affair with a stable groom, unaware that her lover is actually Mary’s own brother. When the truth of both women’s double lives begins to unravel, Mary is left to face the consequences. Forced to choose between loyalty to her brother and loyalty to Charlotte, between society’s respect and true freedom, Mary finally learns that her fate lies in her hands alone.

A captivating historical fiction of 19th century upstairs/downstairs New York City, TheParting Glass examines sexuality, race, and social class in ways that feel startlingly familiar and timely. A perfectly paced, romantically charged “story of the sumptuous world of the privileged and the precarious, difficult environs of the immigrant working poor is highlighted by vibrant characters and a well-paced plot, which will pull readers into the tangled tale” (Publishers Weekly).

Genre: Historical

Praise for this book

"Knotted thickly with secrets both fervid and calculating, to read The Parting Glass is to enter a jungle of passions and lies. Immaculately researched and gorgeously written, this book is noteworthy for its grasp of the agony caused by hiding cracks in the human heart. A thoughtful, lyrical, sensuous, moving tour-de-force." - Lyndsay Faye

"Read The Parting Glass for its rich tapestry of 1830s lower Manhattan, where the stately drawing rooms of wealthy WASPs on Washington Square are sustained by the cheap labour drawn from the tenements nearby. Or read it as a fascinating study of immigration and social class, race and ethnicity, religion and sexuality in early New York. Or as the tale of Maire O'Farrell and her twin brother Seanin, fresh off the boat, who help each other lie to get work in a wealthy household—until they both fall in love with the daughter of the house. Or read it as a tragedy of lies and a triumph of love, or a delicious subversion of the marriage plot. But read it." - Nicola Griffith

"Downton Abbey meets Gangs of New York in this darkly compelling debut...A gem of a novel to be inhaled in one gulp." - Kate Quinn


Similar books by other authors


Used availability for Gina Marie Guadagnino's The Parting Glass

Hardback Editions

May 2019 : USA Library Binding
thumb

Title: The Parting Glass: 0 (Thorndike Press Large Print Peer Picks)
Author(s): Gina Marie Guadagnino
ISBN: 1-4328-6412-2 / 978-1-4328-6412-5 (USA edition)
Publisher: Thorndike Press Large Print
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


March 2019 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: The Parting Glass
Author(s): Gina Marie Guadagnino
ISBN: 1-5011-9841-6 / 978-1-5011-9841-0 (USA edition)
Publisher: Atria Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Paperback Editions

April 2020 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: The Parting Glass
Author(s): Gina Marie Guadagnino
ISBN: 1-5011-9842-4 / 978-1-5011-9842-7 (USA edition)
Publisher: Washington Square Press
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

March 2019 : USA Audio CD
thumb

Title: The Parting Glass
Author(s): Gina Marie Guadagnino
ISBN: 1-5082-8441-5 / 978-1-5082-8441-3 (USA edition)
Publisher: Blackstone Pub
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


March 2019 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Parting Glass
Author(s): Gina Marie Guadagnino
Publisher: Simon & Schuster Audio
Availability: Amazon CA   


Kindle Editions

March 2019 : USA, Canada Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Parting Glass
Author(s): Gina Marie Guadagnino
Publisher: Atria Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA