book cover of The Anatomy of Deception
Added by 2 of our members

The Anatomy of Deception

(2008)
A novel by

 
 
In the tradition of Caleb Carr's The Alienist and Matthew Pearl's The Dante Club, this mesmerizing forensic thriller thrusts the reader into the operating rooms, drawing rooms, and back alleys of 1889 Philadelphia, as a doctor grapples with the principles of scientific process to track a daring killer.

In the morgue of a Philadelphia hospital, physicians uncover the corpse of a beautiful young woman. What they see takes their breath away. Within days, one doctor, Ephraim Carroll, strongly suspects that he knows the woman's identity. . .and the horrifying events that led to her death. But in this richly atmospheric debut novel - an ingenious blend of history, suspense, and early forensic science - the most compelling chapter is yet to come, as the young doctor is plunged into a maze of murder, secrets, and unimaginable crimes.

Peopled with vibrant real-life characters such as Canadian William Osler, hailed as the Father of Modern Medicine; famed surgeon William Stewart Halsted, who performed the first emergency blood transfusion and invented surgical gloves; and the controversial painter Thomas Eakins, The Anatomy of Deception brings to life a little-known and exciting turning-point in American medical history, when ignorant butchery gave way to intelligent surgery - and a young doctor is forced to confront an agonizing moral choice between exposing a killer, undoing a wrong, and, quite possibly, protecting the future of medicine itself.

Genre: Historical

Similar books by other authors


Used availability for Lawrence Goldstone's The Anatomy of Deception

Hardback Editions

January 2009 : UK Hardback

Title: The Anatomy of Deception (Charnwood)
Author(s): Lawrence Goldstone
ISBN: 1-84782-496-X / 978-1-84782-496-7 (UK edition)
Publisher: Ulverscroft Large Print Books Ltd
Availability: Amazon UK   


April 2008 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: The Anatomy of Deception
Author(s): Lawrence Goldstone
ISBN: 0-593-05889-5 / 978-0-593-05889-3 (USA edition)
Publisher: Bantam Press
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


1997 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: The Anatomy of Deception
Author(s): Lawrence Goldstone
ISBN: 0-385-34134-2 / 978-0-385-34134-9 (USA edition)
Publisher: Delacorte Press
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


January 2008 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: The Anatomy of Deception
Author(s): Lawrence Goldstone
ISBN: 0-385-66509-1 / 978-0-385-66509-4 (USA edition)
Publisher: Doubleday Canada
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


Paperback Editions

April 2009 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: The Anatomy Of Deception
Author(s): Lawrence Goldstone
ISBN: 0-552-77410-3 / 978-0-552-77410-9 (UK edition)
Publisher: Black Swan
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


February 2009 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: The Anatomy of Deception
Author(s): Lawrence Goldstone
ISBN: 0-385-66510-5 / 978-0-385-66510-0 (USA edition)
Publisher: Anchor Canada
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


February 2009 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: The Anatomy of Deception: A Novel of Suspense
Author(s): Lawrence Goldstone
ISBN: 0-385-34135-0 / 978-0-385-34135-6 (USA edition)
Publisher: Delta
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


February 2008 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: The Anatomy of Deception
Author(s): Lawrence Goldstone
ISBN: 0-593-05890-9 / 978-0-593-05890-9 (USA edition)
Publisher: Bantam Dell
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   


Audio Editions

January 2008 : USA Audio CD
thumb

Title: Anatomy of Deception (Lib)(CD)
Author(s): Lawrence Goldstone
ISBN: 1-4159-4689-2 / 978-1-4159-4689-3 (USA edition)
Publisher: Books on Tape
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA   


January 2008 : USA Audio CD

Title: The Anatomy of Deception
Author(s): Lawrence Goldstone
ISBN: 0-7393-5915-0 / 978-0-7393-5915-0 (USA edition)
Publisher:
Availability: Amazon   Amazon AU   


January 2008 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Anatomy of Deception: A Novel of Suspense
Author(s): Lawrence Goldstone
Publisher: Random House Audio
Availability: Amazon CA   


January 2008 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Anatomy of Deception: A Novel of Suspense
Author(s): Lawrence Goldstone
Publisher: Books on Tape
Availability: Amazon CA   


Kindle Editions

January 2011 : Canada Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Anatomy of Deception: A Novel of Suspense
Author(s): Lawrence Goldstone
Publisher: Anchor Canada
Availability: Amazon CA   


January 2008 : USA Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Anatomy of Deception: A Novel of Suspense
Author(s): Lawrence Goldstone
Publisher: Delacorte Press
Availability: Amazon