Lesley Grant-Adamson's picture
26 books added

Lesley Grant-Adamson

UK flag (b.1942)

Lesley Grant-Adamson is an acclaimed novelist, short-story writer and teacher of creative writing. She was a journalist who gave up her job (as a feature writer on the Guardian in London) to write fiction. Her first two novels Patterns in the Dust and The Face of Death (Faber, 1985) brought her international success with the classic English detective story and the psychological suspense novel.

Patterns in the Dust was shortlisted for the Crime Writers Associations John Creasey award for first crime novels. Like several of her early novels, it featured newspaper folk and their ailing industry. She wrote a further 14 crime novels of various types, while reviewers credited her with turning the genre into an art form. Her short stories have been read on BBC Radio 4, Radio 3 and Classic FM. They have appeared in magazines, literary journals and anthologies.

Lesley has taught novel-writing at the Arvon Foundation and Ty Newydd. Her success as a teacher, and her wide experience of writing crime fiction, led to a commission for Writing Crime and Suspense Fiction (Hodder, 1996) and the updated Writing Crime Fiction (Hodder, 2003). After her RLF fellowships she taught a City University evening class in writing crime fiction.She now tutors writers individually, from her home in Suffolk where she lives with her husband Andrew. They once wrote a book together. A Season in Spain (Pavilion, 1994) is a portrait of the Alpujarra region of Andalusia where they lived for two years.

Genres: Mystery
Rain Morgan Mysteries
   1. Death on Widow's Walk (1985)
     aka Patterns in the Dust
   2. Death in the South of France (1985)
   3. Death of an Editor (1987)
     aka Wild Justice
   4. Death in the Dark (1990)
     aka Curse the Darkness
   5. The Face of Death (1985)
Jim Rush
   1. A Life of Adventure (1992)
   2. Dangerous Games (1994)
   Guilty Knowledge (1986)
   Threatening Eye (1988)
   Flynn (1991)
     aka Too Many Questions
   The Dangerous Edge (1993)
   Wish You Were Here (1995)
   Evil Acts (1996)
   The Girl in the Case (1997)
   Lipstick and Lies (1998)
   Undertow (1999)
Non fiction show
Books containing stories by Lesley Grant-Adamson
Vintage Crime (2020)
(Crime Writer's Association Anthology)
edited by
Martin Edwards
Crime on the Move (2004)
The Official Crime Writers' Association Anthology 2005
edited by
Martin Edwards
Scenes of Crime (2000)
(Crime Writer's Association Anthology)
edited by
Martin Edwards

More books 

Award nominations
1985 John Creasey (New Blood) Dagger (shortlist) : Death on Widow's Walk

Visitors also looked at these authors

About Fantastic Fiction       Information for Authors