book cover of Big Girl, Small Town
Added by 9 of our members

Big Girl, Small Town

(2020)
A novel by

 
 
Awards
Costa Book Awards Best First Novel (nominee)
“An immensely lovable debut novel . . . It’s the kind of magic you’ll feel lucky to find.” —Ron Charles, The Washington Post  

SHORTLISTED FOR THE COSTA FIRST NOVEL AWARD
FINALIST FOR THE IRISH BOOK AWARD FOR NEWCOMER OF THE YEAR 
FINALIST FOR THE COMEDY WOMEN IN PRINT PRIZE


Meet Majella O’Neill, a heroine like no other, in this captivating Irish debut that has been called Milkman meets Derry Girls

Majella is happiest out of the spotlight, away from her neighbors’ stares and the gossips of the small town in Northern Ireland where she grew up just after the Troubles. She lives a quiet life caring for her alcoholic mother, working in the local chip shop, watching the regular customers come and go. She wears the same clothes each day (overalls, too small), has the same dinner each night (fish and chips, microwaved at home after her shift ends), and binge-watches old DVDs of the same show (Dallas, best show on TV) from the comfort of her bed. 

But underneath Majella’s seemingly ordinary life are the facts that she doesn’t know where her father is and that every person in her town has been changed by the lingering divide between Protestants and Catholics. When Majella’s predictable existence is upended by the death of her granny, she comes to realize there may be more to life than the gossips of Aghybogey, the pub, and the chip shop. In fact, there just may be a whole big world outside her small town. 

Told in a highly original voice, with a captivating heroine readers will love and root for, Big Girl, Small Town will appeal to fans of Sally Rooney, Ottessa Moshfegh, and accessible literary fiction with an edge.

Genre: Literary Fiction

Praise for this book

"Bawdy yet beautiful, full of everyday tragedy, absurdity and truth. I grew extraordinarily attached to Majella." - Sara Baume

"A thrillingly fresh, provocative and touching voice." - Marian Keyes

"Milkman meets Derry Girls. A cracking read." - Sinéad Moriarty


Similar books by other authors


Used availability for Michelle Gallen's Big Girl, Small Town

Hardback Editions

February 2020 : UK Hardback
thumb

Title: Big Girl, Small Town: Shortlisted for the Costa First Novel Award
Author(s): Michelle Gallen
ISBN: 1-5293-0420-2 / 978-1-5293-0420-6 (UK edition)
Publisher: John Murray Publishers Ltd
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


Paperback Editions

February 2021 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: Big Girl, Small Town: Shortlisted for the Costa First Novel Award
Author(s): Michelle Gallen
ISBN: 1-5293-0422-9 / 978-1-5293-0422-0 (UK edition)
Publisher: John Murray
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


December 2020 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: Big Girl, Small Town
Author(s): Michelle Gallen
ISBN: 1-64375-089-5 / 978-1-64375-089-7 (USA edition)
Publisher: Algonquin Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA   


February 2020 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: Big Girl, Small Town: Shortlisted for the Comedy Women in Print Prize: Shortlisted for the Costa First Novel Award
Author(s): Michelle Gallen
ISBN: 1-5293-0421-0 / 978-1-5293-0421-3 (UK edition)
Publisher: John Murray Publishers Ltd
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

December 2020 : USA Audio CD
thumb

Title: Big Girl, Small Town
Author(s): Michelle Gallen
ISBN: 1-66469-306-8 / 978-1-66469-306-7 (USA edition)
Publisher: Workman Publishing Co. Inc and Blackstone Publishing
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


December 2020 : USA Audio CD
thumb

Title: Big Girl, Small Town
Author(s): Michelle Gallen
ISBN: 1-66469-355-6 / 978-1-66469-355-5 (USA edition)
Publisher: Workman Publishing Co. Inc and Blackstone Publishing
Availability: Amazon   Amazon AU   


December 2020 : USA Audio CD
thumb

Title: Big Girl, Small Town Lib/E
Author(s): Michelle Gallen
ISBN: 1-66469-305-X / 978-1-66469-305-0 (USA edition)
Publisher: Algonquin Books
Availability: Amazon AU   


December 2020 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: Big Girl, Small Town
Author(s): Michelle Gallen
Publisher: Workman Publishing
Availability: Amazon   


December 2020 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: Big Girl, Small Town
Author(s): Michelle Gallen
Publisher: Workman Publishing
Availability: Amazon CA   


February 2020 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: Big Girl, Small Town
Author(s): Michelle Gallen
Publisher: John Murray
Availability: Amazon   


February 2020 : Australia Audio edition
thumb

Title: Big Girl, Small Town
Author(s): Michelle Gallen
Publisher: John Murray
Availability: Amazon AU   


February 2020 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: Big Girl, Small Town
Author(s): Michelle Gallen
Publisher: John Murray
Availability: Amazon UK   


Kindle Editions

December 2020 : USA, Canada Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Big Girl, Small Town
Author(s): Michelle Gallen
Publisher: Algonquin Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA   


February 2020 : Australia, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Big Girl, Small Town: Shortlisted for the Costa First Novel Award
Author(s): Michelle Gallen
Publisher: John Murray
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU