Angela Carter's picture

Angela Carter

(Angela Olive Stalker Carter)
UK flag (1940 - 1992)

Angela Carter was born in 1940. She lived in Japan, the United States and Australia. Her first novel, Shadow Dance, was published in 1965. Her next book, The Magic Toyshop, won the John Llewllyn Rhys Prize and the next, Several Perceptions, the Somerset Maugham Award. She died in February 1992.

Genres: Horror
Bristol Trilogy
   1. Shadow Dance (1966)
     aka Honeybuzzard
   2. Several Perceptions (1968)
   3. Love (1971)
Anthologies edited
Non fiction
Anthologies containing stories by Angela Carter
no image availablethumb
Short stories
The Man Who Loved a Double Bass (1962)
A Very, Very Great Lady and Her Son at Home (1965)
A Victorian Fable (with Glossary) (1966)
Elegy for a Free-Lance (1974)
The Executioner's Beautiful Daughter (1974)
Flesh and the Mirror (1974)
The Loves of Lady Purple (1974)
Master (1974)
Penetrating to the Heart of the Forest (1974)
Reflections (1974)
The Smile of Winter (1974)
A Souvenir of Japan (1974)
The Scarlet House (1976)
The Company of Wolves (1977)
The Erl-King (1977)
The Kiss (1977)
The Werewolf (1977)
Wolf-Alice (1978)
The Bloody Chamber [short story] (1979)
The Courtship of Mr Lyon (1979)
The Kitchen Child (1979)
Our Lady of the Massacre (1979)
Puss-in-Boots (1979)
The Snow Child (1979)
The Tiger's Bride (1979)
Black Venus [short story] (1980)
The Fall River Axe Murders (1981)
The Quilt Maker (1981)
The Cabinet of Edgar Allan Poe (1982)
Overture and Incidental Music for "A Midsummer Night's Dream" (1982)
Peter and the Wolf (1982)
Ashputtle: or, The Mother's Ghost (1987)
John Ford's 'Tis Pity She's a Whore (1988)
The Merchant of Shadows (1989)
Alice in Prague, or The Curious Room (1990)
In Pantoland (1991)
Lizzie's Tiger (1991)
Impressions: The Wrightsman Magdalene (1992)
The Ghost Ships (1993)
Gun for the Devil (1993)
The Snow Pavilion (1995)

James Tait Black Memorial Prize for Fiction Best Book winner (1984) : Nights at the Circus
World Fantasy Best Collection nominee (1986) : Black Venus

Books about Angela Carter
Flesh and The Mirror (1964) by Lorna Sage
Angela Carter's Monstrous Women (1991) by J Sears
Angela Carter (1997) by Linden Peach
Angela Carter (2000) by Alison Easton
The Fiction of Angela Carter (2002) by Sarah Gamble
thumbno image availablethumbthumb
Angela Carter recommends
Chronicle of a Death Foretold (1982)
Gabriel García Márquez
"A tour de force of moral and emotional complexity."
The Ice Monkey (1983)
M John Harrison
"Stylish, accomplished, evocative short stories, exemplary fictions of unease shot through with poetic insights and most beautifully written."
Empire of the Sun (1984)
(Empire of the Sun, book 1)
J G Ballard
"An extraordinary achievement."
The Portable Virgin (1991)
Anne Enright
"Elegant, scrupulously poised, always intelligent and, not least, original."

Visitors to this page also looked at these authors