book cover of The Girl at My Door
Added by 19 of our members

The Girl at My Door

(2021)
A novel by

 
 
The young friends were unaware of the man who had followed them through the park. With his trilby pulled down, he moved stealthily through the trees. He was careful and kept to the shadows. He worried it might not have been his wisest move to join the girl on the bench but hadn’t been able to resist seeing her sitting alone like that: she was his absolute ideal.

London 1949: Queenie Osbourne and her best friend Joy are walking through the bustling city streets looking forward to a bright future. The two friends have a striking beauty which draws everyone to them. Queenie dreams of making her fortune as a singer in America and Joy is engaged to wealthy bachelor Charles Gilchrist.

As they prepare for the wedding, it becomes clear that there is a spark between Queenie and Charles and soon they commit the ultimate betrayal. But Queenie’s dream is shattered in an instant when she discovers she is pregnant.

With nowhere else to turn, Queenie is told about a man named John Reginald Christie. He helps women like her and will keep her secret. But as she stands on the steps outside 10 Rillington Place, she feels instantly threatened.

On the other side of the door, Reg Christie is waiting. Queenie doesn’t know that he has been watching her for a long time. To Reg she is perfect in every way. Now, all she has to do is knock…

Inspired by the true crime story of the Rillington Place killer John Reginald Christie, this is a chilling mystery based on a fictional cast of characters. Fans of Gregg Olsen, Louise Douglas and Jess Lourey will be hooked.

This novel was previously published as The Rope Chair.

What readers are saying about The Girl at My Door:

Can I give more than 5 stars?? WOW, WOW, WOW… This book deserves major recognition. The Girl at My Door is going to be an instant hitI am blown away with what I have just read… I absolutely loved that this was based on a true story… I did not want this book to end and I just want so much more!… You do not want to miss this one!’ Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

What an amazing read!... had you on the edge of your seat.…This title is the sort that makes you keep wanting to read on all night. This definitely is a must read. Brilliant.’ Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

WOW, WOW, WOW. I absolutely loved this book. It completely blew my mind and I have not been able to stop thinking about it since I finished reading it! I devoured this in one sitting… Magnificent.’ Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

‘A page-turning thriller that will leave you breathless… The riveting and unsettling portrayal of Christie is pivotal to the book… after about five chapters, I was completely hooked. It’s a pacy read that doesn’t let you become bored. It is brutal, tense and sexy, and an absolute stunner.’ Goodreads reviewer

OMG what a reading this was, right from the very start it give me everything that I love in a historical thriller, dark, creepy and will make you stay in your seat just to read. I do have to say that this is my first time reading anything by this author and if this one is anything to go by, I'll be checking her other ones out when I can.’ Spooky's Maze of Books, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Genre: Mystery

Similar books by other authors


Used availability for Rebecca Griffiths's The Girl at My Door

Paperback Editions

September 2021 : Paperback
thumb

Title: The Girl at My Door: An utterly gripping mystery thriller based on a true crime
Author(s): Rebecca Griffiths
ISBN: 1-80019-892-2 / 978-1-80019-892-0
Publisher: Bookouture
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

September 2021 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Girl at My Door: An Utterly Gripping Suspense Thriller Based on a True Crime
Author(s): Rebecca Griffiths
Publisher: Hachette UK - Bookouture
Availability: Amazon   


September 2021 : Australia Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Girl at My Door: An Utterly Gripping Suspense Thriller Based on a True Crime
Author(s): Rebecca Griffiths
Publisher: Hachette UK - Bookouture
Availability: Amazon AU   


September 2021 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Girl at My Door: An Utterly Gripping Suspense Thriller Based on a True Crime
Author(s): Rebecca Griffiths
Publisher: Hachette UK - Bookouture
Availability: Amazon CA   


Kindle Editions

September 2021 : USA, Australia, Canada, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Girl at My Door: An utterly gripping mystery thriller based on a true crime
Author(s): Rebecca Griffiths
Publisher: Bookouture
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU