book cover of Absence of Mercy
Added by 40 of our members

Absence of Mercy

(2020)
(The first book in the Lightner and Law Mystery series)
A novel by

 
 
A string of grisly murders in Pre-Civil War New York propels an unlikely pair of detectives into a deadly tinderbox in S. M. Goodwin's debut novel, a sure hit for fans of Will Thomas and C. S. Harris.

Jasper Lightner is a decorated Crimean War hero and the most admired inspector in London's Metropolitan Police. Along with a chest full of medals, he's got a head injury that's left large chunks of his memory missing. But Jasper's biggest problem is his father, the Duke of Kersey, who, enraged by a series of front-page newspaper stories extolling Jasper's exploits, decides he's had enough of the embarrassment and uses his political connections to keep his son out of the headlines--and off the police force.

Jasper is sent packing to New York City on a year-long assignment to train detectives, and discovers a police department hovering on the brink of armed conflict. Assigned to investigate the murder of philanthropist and reformer Stephen Finch, Jasper joins forces with a man who might be even more of an outsider than he is: Hieronymus Law, a detective who had investigated two almost identical killings--and who is rumored to have taken money to help frame an innocent woman for murder.

Law is bent on restoring his good name. But can Jasper trust Hy enough to bring him into the investigation? As the city devolves into madness and law enforcement falls into the hands of dangerous gangs, this unlikely team has no choice but to work together to pursue an adversary more sinister than either has faced alone.

Genre: Historical Mystery

Praise for this book

"S.M. Goodwin serves up the perfect historical mystery brew; a captivating sleuth, a diabolical plot, and a vivid sense of place and time. Satisfying yet highly addictive!" - Dianne Freeman

"Well-drawn characters and a gruesome plot make this a series debut that will appeal to hardened mystery fans." - Tessa Harris

"S.M. Goodwin spins a dark, suspenseful tale that vividly captures the world of pre-Civil War New York City...This is a fabulous launch to what is sure to be a long-running series!" - Edwin Hill

"With captivating characters, luscious writing and intrigue around every corner, S.M. Goodwin's debut historical mystery is destined to be among the most talked about of the year. Rich. Resonant. Enigmatic. Just a fantastic, fantastic read!" - Darynda Jones

"A stellar debut with a fascinating hero, an atmospheric setting, and riveting plot. If you enjoy Anne Perry's books, you'll love S.M. Goodwin's Absence of Mercy." - Vanessa Kelly

"An achingly realistic mystery...S.M. Goodwin knows how to make history come alive on pages that you just want to keep turning!" - Carol Potenza

"A hero you'll root for from the very first page!" - Deanna Raybourn

"A historical mystery tour-de-force." - Sherry Thomas


Similar books by other authors


Used availability for S M Goodwin's Absence of Mercy

Hardback Editions

November 2020 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: Absence of Mercy: A Lightner and Law Mystery
Author(s): S M Goodwin
ISBN: 1-64385-521-2 / 978-1-64385-521-9 (USA edition)
Publisher: Crooked Lane Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

December 2020 : USA Audio CD
thumb

Title: Absence of Mercy: A Lightner and Law Mystery
Author(s): S M Goodwin
ISBN: 1-66204-806-8 / 978-1-66204-806-7 (USA edition)
Publisher: Dreamscape Media
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


December 2020 : USA Audio CD
thumb

Title: Absence of Mercy: A Lightner and Law Mystery (Lightner and Law Mysteries)
Author(s): S M Goodwin
ISBN: 1-66204-439-9 / 978-1-66204-439-7 (USA edition)
Publisher: Dreamscape Media
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA   


November 2020 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: Absence of Mercy: A Lightner and Law Mystery
Author(s): S M Goodwin
Publisher: Dreamscape Media, LLC
Availability: Amazon   


November 2020 : Australia Audio edition
thumb

Title: Absence of Mercy: A Lightner and Law Mystery
Author(s): S M Goodwin
Publisher: Dreamscape Media, LLC
Availability: Amazon AU   


November 2020 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: Absence of Mercy: A Lightner and Law Mystery
Author(s): S M Goodwin
Publisher: Dreamscape Media, LLC
Availability: Amazon CA   


November 2020 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: Absence of Mercy: A Lightner and Law Mystery
Author(s): S M Goodwin
Publisher: Dreamscape Media, LLC
Availability: Amazon UK   


Kindle Editions

November 2020 : USA, Australia, Canada, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Absence of Mercy: A Lightner and Law Mystery
Author(s): S M Goodwin
Publisher: Crooked Lane Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU