book cover of Deep Winter
Added by 1 of our members

Deep Winter

(2014)
A novel by

 
 
For fans of Alice Sebold and Scott Smith, a dark, gripping debut novel of literary suspense that The New York Times and critics describe as "beautifully written, suspenseful and fast-paced."

In the small town of Wyalusing, a woman is found brutally murdered one winter night. Next to the body is Danny Bedford, a misunderstood man who suffered a tragic brain injury that left him with limited mental capabilities. Despite his simple life, his intimidating size has caused his neighbors to ostracize him out of fear of what he may do. So when the local bully-turned-deputy discovers Danny with the body, it's obvious that Danny's physical strength has finally become deadly. But in the long, freezing night that follows, the murder is only the first in a series of crimes that viciously upset the town order--an unstoppable chain of violence that appears to make Danny's guilt undeniable. With the threat of an approaching blizzard, the local sheriff and a state trooper work through the predawn hours to restore some semblance of order to Wyalusing. As they investigate one unspeakable incident after another, they discover an intricate web of lies revealing that not everything is quite what it seems.

With echoes of Scott Smith's A Simple Plan and Tana French's In the Woods, Samuel W. Gailey's Deep Winter is a richly atmospheric and ingeniously plotted debut, surprising to the final page. It's impossible to escape this bone-chilling story of deception, where the truth is uncertain and something sinister lurks just below the surface. . .

Genre: Mystery

Similar books by other authors

thumb
Serpentine
(Alex Delaware, book 36)
Jonathan Kellerman
thumb
Not Dark Yet
(DCI Banks, book 27)
Peter Robinson

Used availability for Samuel W Gailey's Deep Winter

Hardback Editions

February 2014 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: Deep Winter: a Novel
Author(s): Samuel W Gailey
ISBN: 0-399-16596-7 / 978-0-399-16596-2 (USA edition)
Publisher: Blue Rider Press
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Paperback Editions

February 2015 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: Deep Winter : A Novel
Author(s): Samuel W Gailey
ISBN: 0-14-218178-1 / 978-0-14-218178-2 (UK edition)
Publisher: PLUME
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Kindle Editions

February 2014 : USA, Canada, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Deep Winter: a Novel
Author(s): Samuel W Gailey
Publisher: Plume
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA