book cover of The Guilt We Carry
Added by 2 of our members

The Guilt We Carry

(2019)
A novel by

 
 
Perfect for readers of The Girl on the Train and Winter’s Bone, Publishers Weekly praises The Guilt We Carry as “a gripping tale of redemption” and New York Journal of Books declares it “the Breaking Bad of the book world.”

Since the tragic accident that brutally ended her childhood, Alice O’Farrell has been haunted by her past. Unable to bear the guilt of negligence that led to the death of her younger brother, fifteen-year-old Alice runs away from home. She lives on the streets, makes one bad decision after another, and drowns her guilt in alcohol. But, everything changes when she stumbles upon a startling scene: a dead drug dealer and a duffel bag full of ninety-one thousand dollars in cash. Recognizing this as an opportunity for a fresh start, Alice takes the money and runs. However, she soon finds herself fleeing from more than her own past—the dead dealer’s drug supplier wants his money back and will destroy her to get it. A merciless manhunt ensues, headed by Sinclair—a formidable opponent—relentless, shrewd, and brutal. As blood is spilled all around her, Alice is eventually faced with her day of reckoning. In the end, The Guilt We Carry is a story about redemption and forgiveness, but at what cost?

Genre: Mystery

Praise for this book

"The Guilt We Carry is heartbreaking, hopeful and touching...Gailey lyrically weaves a story of loss and guilt into one of redemption. Never has misery been so elegantly written." - Matt Coyle

"An extraordinary thriller, The Guilt We Carry is driven by a plot that is both economic and subtly complicated. Samuel W. Gailey propels his characters into one another with a tough empathy. The result is a tense, scintillating read that is also human and ultimately satisfying as the book hurtles toward its unexpected but well-earned conclusion." - Bruce Holbert

"The main character from The Guilt We Carry, Alice O’Farrell, kept me up until five a.m. She is tragic, flawed, beaten down, but tough enough and resilient enough to survive. Gailey has delivered one of my favorite characters in recent memory. A non-stop burner of a novel." - Willy Vlautin


Similar books by other authors

thumb
Methods of Execution
(Matthew Riordan Mystery, book 5)
Fredrick D Huebner

Used availability for Samuel W Gailey's The Guilt We Carry

Hardback Editions

January 2019 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: The Guilt We Carry
Author(s): Samuel W Gailey
ISBN: 1-60809-320-4 / 978-1-60809-320-5 (USA edition)
Publisher: Oceanview Publishing
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Paperback Editions

June 2020 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: The Guilt We Carry
Author(s): Samuel Gailey
ISBN: 1-60809-380-8 / 978-1-60809-380-9 (USA edition)
Publisher: Oceanview Publishing
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

February 2020 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Guilt We Carry
Author(s): Samuel W Gailey
Publisher: Oceanview Publishing
Availability: Amazon   


February 2020 : Australia Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Guilt We Carry
Author(s): Samuel W Gailey
Publisher: Oceanview Publishing
Availability: Amazon AU   


February 2020 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Guilt We Carry
Author(s): Samuel W Gailey
Publisher: Oceanview Publishing
Availability: Amazon CA   


February 2020 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Guilt We Carry
Author(s): Samuel W Gailey
Publisher: Oceanview Publishing
Availability: Amazon UK   


Kindle Editions

January 2019 : USA, Australia, Canada, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Guilt We Carry
Author(s): Samuel W Gailey
Publisher: Oceanview Publishing
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU