book cover of Other Words for Smoke
Added by 5 of our members

Other Words for Smoke

(2019)
A novel by

 
 
Twins Mae and Rossa’s summer away from home becomes life altering when they discover a house full of witches, experience devastating first love, and face a dark power beyond any imagining.

Sarah Maria Griffin’s haunting and literary sophomore novel explores the balance between love and fear, weakness and power, and the lengths one will go to claim one’s freedom. For fans of Libba Bray’s The Diviners and Maggie Stiefvater’s All the Crooked Saints.

When the women from the house at the end of the lane went missing, none of the townspeople knew what happened. A tragedy, they called it. Only twins Mae and Rossa know the truth about that fateful summer.

Only they know about the owl in the wall, the uncanny cat, the insidious creatures that devour love and fear. Only they know the trials of loving someone who longs for power, for freedom, for magic. Only they know what brought everything tumbling down around them. And they’ll never, ever breathe a word.

With an unusual structure spanning five summers, intriguing characters, and a dark mystery, this uncommon novel will appeal to readers of Rin Chupeco’s TheBone Witch and Madeleine Roux’s House of Furies.

Genre: Young Adult Fantasy

Praise for this book

"A fascinating coming-of-age story...Griffin has a keen eye for the beautiful agony of adolescence, and that’s what makes this book such a compelling read." - Charlie Jane Anders

"A beautiful novel woven from magic that seeps into your blood and bones and lingers there...Sarah’s gorgeous prose will haunt you." - Christina Henry

"To say this novel, dripping with pull and promise, is good, would be an understatement and an oversimplification. It’s the kind of good that is both wonderful and horrifying simultaneously, awful and wrong and gorgeous as its shadowy and powerful wallpaper owl. ...A brilliant piece of feminine-powered complexity." - Matt Killeen

"A fierce and fearless heartbeat." - V E Schwab


Similar books by other authors

thumb
The Too-Clever Fox
(Shadow and Bone Trilogy, book 2.5)
Leigh Bardugo
thumb
Hunting Kat
(Darkest Powers, book .5)
Kelley Armstrong
thumb
Darkness Eternal
(Teen Alien Huntress)
Gena Showalter
thumb
Throne of Glass
(Throne of Glass, book 1)
Sarah J Maas

Used availability for Sarah Maria Griffin's Other Words for Smoke

Hardback Editions

March 2019 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: Other Words for Smoke
Author(s): Sarah Maria Griffin
ISBN: 0-06-240891-7 / 978-0-06-240891-4 (USA edition)
Publisher: Greenwillow Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Paperback Editions

April 2019 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: Other Words for Smoke
Author(s): Sarah Maria Griffin
ISBN: 1-78909-008-3 / 978-1-78909-008-6 (UK edition)
Publisher: Titan Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


Kindle Editions

April 2019 : Australia, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Other Words for Smoke
Author(s): Sarah Maria Griffin
Publisher: Titan Books
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


March 2019 : USA, Canada Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Other Words for Smoke
Author(s): Sarah Maria Griffin
Publisher: Greenwillow Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA