book cover of Burning Island
Added by 14 of our members

Burning Island

(2020)
A novel by

 
 
They were not her children. But she would protect them with her life....

Corfu, 1943. Though they don't know it, five-year-old Matilde and three-year-old Anna have kissed their mother for the last time. The Nazis have reached their sun-scorched home, and they are being taken to a place of safety, on the northeastern tip of the rocky island. They are to be hidden, at great risk, by kindly Agata and her husband, until the terrible war is over.

Matilde and Anna's tears are soothed by Agata's bedtime stories, but she is always alert. So far, no soldiers have ventured down the steep rocky hillside to their secret haven, but Agata knows they are constantly scouring the island for missing Jews. And then, on a day when Agata's husband is away, a German soldier appears.

Corfu, 2016. Under a baking June sun, Amber and her husband arrive in Corfu from England, hoping for a fresh start. But not everyone is pleased by their arrival, and with the pressures of pregnancy, the couple grow further apart.

Desperate to find a sense of belonging for herself and her unborn child, Amber finds herself drawn to the local story of two little girls, left by their parents and hidden for their own protection. But there are some who would rather Amber left Corfu's terrible history well in the past.

Can Amber uncover the heart-breaking truth about the two little girls, and what happened after a German soldier took a swim in the bay by their house? If she does, can the secrets of the past help her find happiness or send her running from the island, alone?

A gripping, heart-wrenching, and compelling listen about the shadows at the heart of the sun-drenched island of Corfu and survival against all odds.

Fans of Victoria Hislop's books, The Nightingale, and The Tattooist of Auschwitz will fall in love with Burning Island.

Genre: Historical

Similar books by other authors


Used availability for Suzanne Goldring's Burning Island

Paperback Editions

January 2020 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: Burning Island: Absolutely heartbreaking World War 2 historical fiction
Author(s): Suzanne Goldring
ISBN: 1-83888-179-4 / 978-1-83888-179-5 (UK edition)
Publisher: Bookouture
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

January 2020 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: Burning Island
Author(s): Suzanne Goldring
Publisher: Hachette UK - Bookouture
Availability: Amazon   


January 2020 : Australia Audio edition
thumb

Title: Burning Island
Author(s): Suzanne Goldring
Publisher: Hachette UK - Bookouture
Availability: Amazon AU   


January 2020 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: Burning Island
Author(s): Suzanne Goldring
Publisher: Hachette UK - Bookouture
Availability: Amazon CA   


January 2020 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: Burning Island
Author(s): Suzanne Goldring
Publisher: Hachette UK - Bookouture
Availability: Amazon UK   


Kindle Editions

January 2020 : USA, Australia, Canada, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Burning Island: Absolutely heartbreaking World War 2 historical fiction
Author(s): Suzanne Goldring
Publisher: Bookouture
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU