book cover of Breach
Added by 1 of our members

Breach

(2018)
(The first book in the Cold War Magic series)
A novel by

 
 
The first novel in a new Cold War fantasy series, where the Berlin Wall is made entirely of magic. When a breach unexpectedly appears in the wall, spies from both sides swarm to the city as World War III threatens to spark.

After the war, the wall brought an uneasy peace.

When Soviet magicians conjured an arcane wall to blockade occupied Berlin, the world was outraged but let it stand for the sake of peace. Now, after 10 years of fighting with spies instead of spells, the CIA has discovered the unthinkable....

The wall is failing.

While refugees and soldiers mass along the border, operatives from East and West converge on the most dangerous city in the world to either stop the crisis or take advantage of it.

Karen, a young magician with the American Office of Magical Research and Deployment, is sent to investigate the breach in the Wall and determine if it can be fixed. Instead, she discovers the truth is elusive in this divided city - and that even magic itself has its own agenda.

The truth of the wall is about to be revealed.

Genre: Fantasy

Praise for this book

"Breach is a galloping, cutthroat thrill ride with characters you can root for, even if you sometimes want to slap them." - Lara Elena Donnelly

"W. L. Goodwater delivers one surprise after another in his high-octane magical spy thriller Breach. It's like Lev Grossman's The Magicians meets John Le Carré's classic The Spy Who Came in From the Cold, but with more action and better one-liners. Goodwater is a kick-ass new voice in the modern-fantasy arena!" - David Mack

"With a vintage vibe and modern magic, Breach is a perfectly unique spy thriller, with an exceptional cast and a killer setting that's colder than the Cold War ever dreamed of being. It's one hell of a mystery, yes. But it's also a whole lot of fun." - Cherie Priest

"Magic has never felt so real. W.L. Goodwater's debut Breach presents an alternate world that feels as authentic as true history, even when steeped in spellcraft and magic. It reminded me of the best of Jim Butcher, but charts a path all its own." - James Rollins

"Breach is a Cold War fantasy that nails the period flavor of a divided Berlin haunted by the horrors of the past, with a great cast and plenty of magic. Fans of Tim Powers' Declare or Charles Stross' The Atrocity Archives will like this one!" - Django Wexler


Similar books by other authors


Used availability for W L Goodwater's Breach

Paperback Editions

November 2018 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: Breach (Cold War Magic novel, A)
Author(s): W L Goodwater
ISBN: 0-451-49103-3 / 978-0-451-49103-9 (USA edition)
Publisher: Ace
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

November 2018 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: Breach: A Cold War Magic Novel, Book 1
Author(s): W L Goodwater
Publisher: Penguin Audio
Availability: Amazon   


November 2018 : Australia Audio edition
thumb

Title: Breach: A Cold War Magic Novel, Book 1
Author(s): W L Goodwater
Publisher: Penguin Audio
Availability: Amazon AU   


November 2018 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: Breach: A Cold War Magic Novel, Book 1
Author(s): W L Goodwater
Publisher: Penguin Audio
Availability: Amazon CA   


November 2018 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: Breach: A Cold War Magic Novel, Book 1
Author(s): W L Goodwater
Publisher: Penguin Audio
Availability: Amazon UK   


Kindle Editions

November 2018 : USA, Australia, Canada, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Breach (Cold War Magic novel, A Book 1)
Author(s): W L Goodwater
Publisher: Ace
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU