Django Wexler's picture
101 followers

Django Wexler


USA flag

Django Wexler graduated from Carnegie Mellon University in Pittsburgh with degrees in creative writing and computer science, and worked for the university in artificial intelligence research.  Eventually he migrated to Microsoft in Seattle, where he now lives with two cats and a teetering mountain of books.  When not planning Shadow Campaigns, he wrangles computers, paints tiny soldiers, and plays games of all sorts.

Genres: Fantasy, Children's Fiction, Young Adult Fantasy, Science Fiction
 
Novels
thumbthumb
 
Novellas
   The First Kill (2015)
   Hard Reboot (2021)
thumbthumb
 
Django Wexler recommends
thumb
Senlin Ascends (2013)
(Babel, book 1)
Josiah Bancroft
"Senlin Ascends crosses the everyday strangeness and lyrical prose of Borges and Gogol with all the action and adventure of high fantasy. I loved it, and grabbed the next one as soon as I turned the last page."
thumb
The Grey Bastards (2015)
(Lot Lands, book 1)
Jonathan French
"A gritty adventure with a fantastic, foul-mouthed voice and filthy, lovable characters in a wonderfully original world. Fans of Abercrombie’s THE FIRST LAW or the soldierly banter of Erikson’s MALAZAN BOOK OF THE FALLEN will like this a lot."
thumb
The Waking Fire (2016)
(Draconis Memoria, book 1)
Anthony Ryan
"The Waking Fire is part Indiana Jones, part Pirates of the Caribbean, and part Mistborn. It's got wonderful, memorable characters and great action...I loved it."
thumb
Kings of the Wyld (2017)
(Band , book 1)
Nicholas Eames
"A fantastic epic fantasy! Just the right smidgen of tongue-in-cheek to work wonderfully. Go read."
thumb
Blackwing (2017)
(Raven's Mark, book 1)
Ed McDonald
"Blackwing is a bloody, gritty fantasy novel that manages not to sacrifice its heart. I love the world, which feel strange and lived-in, and the strength of the voice is fantastic. Fans of Glen Cook’s The Black Company or Joe Abercrombie’s The First Law series will be very happy with this one."
thumb
The Last Sun (2018)
(Tarot Sequence, book 1)
K D Edwards
"A fast, fun urban fantasy in a wonderfully original world, full of slam-bang magic and interesting characters."
thumb
Black Chamber (2018)
(Alternate World War, book 1)
S M Stirling
"It's a great feeling being in the hands of an alternate history master. Black Chamber is a wonderfully fun transcontinental spy romp, and a great beginning to a new series."
thumb
Breach (2018)
(Cold War Magic, book 1)
W L Goodwater
"Breach is a Cold War fantasy that nails the period flavor of a divided Berlin haunted by the horrors of the past, with a great cast and plenty of magic. Fans of Tim Powers' Declare or Charles Stross' The Atrocity Archives will like this one!"
thumb
Children of Ruin (2019)
(Children of Time, book 2)
Adrian Tchaikovsky
"Children of Ruin is wonderful - big, thinky SF that feels classic without being mired in the past, absolutely crammed with fun ideas. Anyone who likes sweeping, evolutionary-scale stories will love this."
thumb
Wanderers (2019)
Chuck Wendig
"Wanderers is amazing—huge, current, both broad and intensely personal, blending the contemplative apocalypse of Station Eleven with the compulsive readability of the best thrillers."
thumb
Novice Dragoneer (2019)
(Dragoneer Academy, book 1)
E E Knight
"Novice Dragoneer is deep and thoughtful, with intricate worldbuilding and resonant characters both human and draconic. Anyone who fell in love with Tamora Pierce's Alanna will find a home here too."
thumb
Harrow the Ninth (2020)
(Locked Tomb, book 2)
Tamsyn Muir
"Harrow the Ninth is a psychological rollercoaster covering forty billion light-years. It’s wonderful to see the universe of Gideon expand, while staying as twisted and full of bones as ever."

Visitors to this page also looked at these authors