book cover of Fire
Added by 4 of our members

Fire

(2016)
(The second book in the Captain Coke series)
A novel by

 
 
First came Plague, now comes Fire. The epic tale of the hunt for a serial killer threatening London’s rich and poor during the Great Fire of London. Perfect for fans of S J Parris and C J Sansom.

Fires don’t start by themselves. They need someone to light them.

As the Great Plague of London loosens its grip at last, Charles II’s court moves back to the city, the theatres reopen and a new year arrives.

1666. It cannot be more terrible than the previous year, surely?

But it can.

What’s more it seems that a serial killer who stalked hand in hand with the Plague might not be dead after all. Together with actress Sarah Chalker, highwayman William Coke and thief-taker Pitman come together as one, determined to stop the brutal murder of London’s rich and poor once and for all.

But another threat is on the way. It hasn’t rained in five months. London is a tinderbox – politically, sexually and religiously. The Great Fire of London is about to ignite. And the final confrontation between Coke, Pitman and Sarah Chalker and their murderous adversary will be decided against a background of apocalypse.

Genre: Historical Mystery

Similar books by other authors

thumb
A Burnable Book
(John Gower, book 1)
Bruce Holsinger
thumb
A Christmas Escape
(Christmas, book 13)
Anne Perry
thumb
The Hidden Man
(Cragg & Fidelis Mystery, book 3)
Robin Blake
thumb
The Tudor Conspiracy
(Spymaster Chronicles, book 2)
C W Gortner

Used availability for C C Humphreys's Fire

Paperback Editions

October 2018 : Canada Paperback
thumb

Title: Fire
Author(s): C C Humphreys
ISBN: 1-9994616-0-6 / 978-1-9994616-0-7 (Canada edition)
Publisher: Two Hats Creative Inc.
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


August 2016 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: Fire
Author(s): C C Humphreys
ISBN: 0-09-958118-3 / 978-0-09-958118-5 (UK edition)
Publisher: Arrow
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


July 2016 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: Fire
Author(s): C C Humphreys
ISBN: 0-385-67989-0 / 978-0-385-67989-3 (USA edition)
Publisher: Doubleday Canada
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA   


May 2016 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: Fire
Author(s): C C Humphreys
ISBN: 1-78089-145-8 / 978-1-78089-145-3 (UK edition)
Publisher: Century
Availability: Amazon UK   


Audio Editions

December 2016 : UK Audio CD
thumb

Title: Fire
Author(s): C C Humphreys
ISBN: 1-4450-5931-2 / 978-1-4450-5931-0 (UK edition)
Publisher: ISIS Audio Books
Availability: Amazon UK   


December 2016 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: Fire
Author(s): C C Humphreys
Publisher: Isis Publishing Ltd
Availability: Amazon   


December 2016 : Australia Audio edition
thumb

Title: Fire
Author(s): C C Humphreys
Publisher: Isis Publishing Ltd
Availability: Amazon AU   


December 2016 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: Fire
Author(s): C C Humphreys
Publisher: Isis Publishing Ltd
Availability: Amazon CA   


December 2016 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: Fire
Author(s): C C Humphreys
Publisher: Isis Publishing Ltd
Availability: Amazon UK   


Kindle Editions

August 2018 : USA Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Fire (Plague and Fire Book 2)
Author(s): C C Humphreys
Publisher: Two Hats Creative Inc.
Availability: Amazon   


July 2016 : Canada Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Fire
Author(s): C C Humphreys
Publisher: Doubleday Canada
Availability: Amazon CA   


May 2016 : Australia, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Fire
Author(s): C C Humphreys
Publisher: Cornerstone Digital
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU