book cover of The Angel\'s Mark
Added by 42 of our members

The Angel's Mark

(2018)
(The first book in the Nicholas Shelby series)
A novel by

 
 
Longlisted for the Crime Writers' Association Historical Fiction Dagger, 2019

A Walter Scott Prize Academy Recommended Read 2019


'Rich, intelligent and dark in equal measure, leaving you wrung out with terror. Historical fiction at its most sumptuous.' Rory Clements

________________________

Heresy. Conspiracy. Murder...

London, 1590: Amidst a tumultuous backdrop of Spanish plotters, Catholic heretics and foreign wars, Queen Elizabeth I's control over her kingdom is wavering.

And a killer is at work, preying on the weak and destitute of London...

Idealistic physician Nicholas Shelby becomes determined to end these terrible murders. Joined in his investigations by Bianca, a beautiful but mysterious tavern keeper, the pair find themselves caught in the middle of a sinister plot.

With the killer still at large, Bianca finds herself in terrible danger. Nicholas's choice seems impossible - to save Bianca, or save himself...

'Wonderful! Perry's Elizabethan London is so skilfully evoked, so real that one can almost smell it.' Giles Kristian

Genre: Historical Mystery

Praise for this book

"The Angel's Mark has the pace of a thriller... S.W. Perry is a welcome addition to the ranks of historical crime novelists." - Simon Brett

"A gorgeous book - rich, intelligent and dark in equal measure. It immerses you in the late 16th century and leaves you wrung out with terror. This is historical fiction at its most sumptuous." - Rory Clements

"Wonderful! Beautiful writing, and Perry's Elizabethan London is so skilfully evoked, so real that one can almost smell it." - Giles Kristian

"I knew before I got to the bottom of the first page that The Angel's Mark was the real thing. In an increasingly crowded field, this one is going to stand out." - S G MacLean

"An impressively dramatic and gripping debut novel. Elegantly written, thoroughly researched, The Angel's Mark draws us into the murky world of Elizabethan London where life is a game of chance, and savage death a close neighbour, quick to pounce on the unsuspecting. I predict that we will be seeing much more of Nicholas Shelby, physician and reluctant spy." - Anne O'Brien

"A remarkably assured and classy debut. Perry grabs your attention from the first paragraph and holds it throughout a fascinating journey into high and low life of Tudor London. This could, hopefully, be the start of an addictive series." - L C Tyler


Similar books by other authors

thumb
A Rustle of Silk
(Gabriel Taverner Mystery, book 1)
Alys Clare
thumb
Death in Delft
(Master Mercurius Mystery, book 1)
Graham Brack
thumb
The Last Protector
(James Marwood and Cat Lovett, book 4)
Andrew Taylor

Used availability for S W Perry's The Angel's Mark

Hardback Editions

September 2018 : UK Hardback
thumb

Title: The Angel's Mark: A gripping tale of espionage and murder in Elizabethan London (The Jackdaw Mysteries)
Author(s): S W Perry
ISBN: 1-78649-492-2 / 978-1-78649-492-4 (UK edition)
Publisher: Corvus
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


Paperback Editions

May 2019 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: The Angel's Mark: A gripping tale of espionage and murder in Elizabethan London (The Jackdaw Mysteries)
Author(s): S W Perry
ISBN: 1-78649-494-9 / 978-1-78649-494-8 (UK edition)
Publisher: Corvus
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


September 2018 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: The Angel's Mark: A gripping tale of espionage and murder in Elizabethan London (Jackdaw Mysteries)
Author(s): S W Perry
ISBN: 1-78649-495-7 / 978-1-78649-495-5 (UK edition)
Publisher: Corvus
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

September 2018 : Australia Audio CD
thumb

Title: The Angel's Mark: 1
Author(s): S W Perry
ISBN: 1-4894-5692-9 / 978-1-4894-5692-2 (Australia edition)
Publisher: Bolinda audio
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


September 2018 : Australia Audio CD
thumb

Title: The Angel's Mark: 1
Author(s): S W Perry
ISBN: 1-4894-5693-7 / 978-1-4894-5693-9 (Australia edition)
Publisher: Bolinda audio
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


September 2018 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Angel's Mark
Author(s): S W Perry
Publisher: Bolinda Publishing Pty Ltd
Availability: Amazon   


September 2018 : Australia Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Angel's Mark
Author(s): S W Perry
Publisher: Bolinda Publishing Pty Ltd
Availability: Amazon AU   


September 2018 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Angel's Mark
Author(s): S W Perry
Publisher: Bolinda Publishing Pty Ltd
Availability: Amazon UK   


Kindle Editions

September 2018 : USA, Canada Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Angel's Mark (The Jackdaw Mysteries)
Author(s): S W Perry
Publisher: Atlantic Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA   


September 2018 : Australia, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Angel's Mark: This bestseller is perfect for fans of CJ Sansom, Rory Clements and S. J. Parris. (The Jackdaw Mysteries Book 1)
Author(s): S W Perry
Publisher: Corvus
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU