book cover of The Angel\'s Mark
Added by 23 of our members

The Angel's Mark

(2018)
(The first book in the Nicholas Shelby series)
A novel by

 
 
Longlisted for the Crime Writers' Association Historical Fiction Dagger, 2019

A Walter Scott Prize Academy Recommended Read 2019

'A gorgeous book - rich, intelligent and dark in equal measure... Historical fiction at its most sumptuous.' Rory Clements

LONDON, 1590.

Amidst a tumultuous backdrop of Spanish plotters, Catholic heretics and foreign wars, Queen Elizabeth I's control over her kingdom is wavering.

And a killer is at work, preying on the weak and destitute of London...

Idealistic physician Nicholas Shelby becomes determined to end these terrible murders. Joined in his investigations by Bianca, a beautiful but mysterious tavern keeper, the pair find themselves caught in the middle of a sinister plot.

With the killer still at large, Bianca finds herself in terrible danger.

Nicholas's choice seems impossible - to save Bianca, or save himself...

Genre: Historical Mystery

Praise for this book

"The Angel's Mark has the pace of a thriller... S.W. Perry is a welcome addition to the ranks of historical crime novelists." - Simon Brett

"A gorgeous book - rich, intelligent and dark in equal measure. It immerses you in the late 16th century and leaves you wrung out with terror. This is historical fiction at its most sumptuous." - Rory Clements

"Wonderful! Beautiful writing, and Perry's Elizabethan London is so skilfully evoked, so real that one can almost smell it." - Giles Kristian

"I knew before I got to the bottom of the first page that The Angel's Mark was the real thing. In an increasingly crowded field, this one is going to stand out." - S G MacLean

"An impressively dramatic and gripping debut novel. Elegantly written, thoroughly researched, The Angel's Mark draws us into the murky world of Elizabethan London where life is a game of chance, and savage death a close neighbour, quick to pounce on the unsuspecting. I predict that we will be seeing much more of Nicholas Shelby, physician and reluctant spy." - Anne O'Brien

"A remarkably assured and classy debut. Perry grabs your attention from the first paragraph and holds it throughout a fascinating journey into high and low life of Tudor London. This could, hopefully, be the start of an addictive series." - L C Tyler


Similar books by other authors

thumb
Treachery
(Giordano Bruno, book 4)
S J Parris
thumb
Conspiracy
(Giordano Bruno, book 5)
S J Parris
thumb
Ashes of London
(James Marwood and Cat Lovett, book 1)
Andrew Taylor
thumb
The Fire Court
(James Marwood and Cat Lovett, book 2)
Andrew Taylor

Used availability for S W Perry's The Angel's Mark

Hardback Editions

September 2018 : UK Hardback
thumb

Title: The Angel's Mark: A gripping tale of espionage and murder in Elizabethan London (The Jackdaw Mysteries)
Author(s): S W Perry
ISBN: 1-78649-492-2 / 978-1-78649-492-4 (UK edition)
Publisher: Corvus
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


Paperback Editions

May 2019 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: The Angel's Mark: A gripping tale of espionage and murder in Elizabethan London (The Jackdaw Mysteries)
Author(s): S W Perry
ISBN: 1-78649-494-9 / 978-1-78649-494-8 (UK edition)
Publisher: Corvus
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


September 2018 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: The Angel's Mark: A gripping tale of espionage and murder in Elizabethan London
Author(s): S W Perry
ISBN: 1-78649-495-7 / 978-1-78649-495-5 (UK edition)
Publisher: Corvus
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

September 2018 : Australia Audio CD
thumb

Title: The Angel's Mark: 1
Author(s): S W Perry
ISBN: 1-4894-5692-9 / 978-1-4894-5692-2 (Australia edition)
Publisher: Bolinda audio
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


September 2018 : Australia Audio CD
thumb

Title: The Angel's Mark: 1
Author(s): S W Perry
ISBN: 1-4894-5693-7 / 978-1-4894-5693-9 (Australia edition)
Publisher: Bolinda audio
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


September 2018 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Angel's Mark
Author(s): S W Perry
Publisher: Bolinda Publishing Pty Ltd
Availability: Amazon   


September 2018 : Australia Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Angel's Mark
Author(s): S W Perry
Publisher: Bolinda Publishing Pty Ltd
Availability: Amazon AU   


September 2018 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Angel's Mark
Author(s): S W Perry
Publisher: Bolinda Publishing Pty Ltd
Availability: Amazon UK   


Kindle Editions

September 2018 : Australia, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Angel's Mark: This bestseller is perfect for fans of CJ Sansom, Rory Clements and S. J. Parris. (The Jackdaw Mysteries Book 1)
Author(s): S W Perry
Publisher: Corvus
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU