book cover of King of the Ants

King of the Ants

(1992)
A novel by

 
 
It seemed straightforward enough. Sean had now consumed so much alcohol that everything seemed perfectly reasonable. He'd started planning the job already. The first problem was how to do it. Thirteen thousand pounds in an envelope seems a fair price for a man's life. Particularly if you don't know the man, he seems a nonentity, and you quite fancy his wife. And there's no chance of being caught. Sean is a drifter, working as a building labourer and waiting for something to happen. When Sean is offered easy money to tail someone and even more easy money to dispose of him, it's all more tempting than you might think. Except when you realize that you've been led up the garden path the whole way... KING OF THE ANTS is dark, disturbing and violently comic. In the tradition of both Joe Orton and Iain Banks, Charles Higson pinpoints the casual vagaries of evil and its attendant powers. Unnerving, horribly accurate and wickedly enjoyable, it remains Higson's finest book.



Praise for this book

"Funny, very tough and full of action." - Patricia Highsmith


Similar books by other authors


Used availability for Charles Higson's King of the Ants

Paperback Editions

February 2009 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: King Of The Ants
Author(s): Charlie Higson
ISBN: 0-349-12180-X / 978-0-349-12180-2 (UK edition)
Publisher: Abacus
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


November 1998 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: King Of The Ants
Author(s): Charlie Higson
ISBN: 0-349-11103-0 / 978-0-349-11103-2 (UK edition)
Publisher: Abacus
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


April 1993 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: King of the Ants: Together with the First Chapter of His Latest Novel, Happy Now
Author(s): Charlie Higson
ISBN: 0-14-016646-7 / 978-0-14-016646-0 (UK edition)
Publisher: Penguin
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   


April 1992 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: King of the Ants
Author(s): Charlie Higson
ISBN: 0-241-13207-X / 978-0-241-13207-4 (UK edition)
Publisher: Hamish Hamilton
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


Kindle Editions

September 2015 : USA, Canada Kindle edition
thumb

Title: King Of The Ants
Author(s): Charlie Higson
Publisher: Abacus
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA   


September 2015 : Australia, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: King Of The Ants
Author(s): Charlie Higson
Publisher: Abacus
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU