book cover of The Wolf Den

The Wolf Den

(2021)
(The first book in the Wolf Den series)
A novel by

 
 


'Utterly spellbinding' Woman & Home



Sold by her mother. Enslaved in Pompeii's brothel. Determined to survive. Her name is Amara. Welcome to the Wolf Den...

Amara was once a beloved daughter, until her father's death plunged her family into penury. Now she is a slave in Pompeii's infamous brothel, owned by a man she despises. Sharp, clever and resourceful, Amara is forced to hide her talents. For now her only value lies in the desire she can stir in others.

But Amara's spirit is far from broken. By day, she walks the streets with the Wolf Den's other women, finding comfort in the laughter and dreams they share. For the streets of Pompeii are alive with opportunity. Out here, even the lowest slave can secure a reversal in fortune. Amara has learnt that everything in this city has its price. But how much is her freedom going to cost her?

Set in Pompeii's lupanar, The Wolf Den is the first in a trilogy of novels reimagining the lives of women who have long been overlooked. Perfect for fans of Pat Barker's The Silence of the Girls/i> and Madeline Miller's Circe.

Reviews for The Wolf Den:
'A compelling story of survival, friendship and courage. Amara and her fellow she-wolves are vividly drawn in a fascinating depiction of women at the time. Utterly spellbinding' Woman & Home
'Rich in historical detail, beauty and brutality, The Wolf Den brings to vivid life the doomed city of Pompeii and the powerlessness of its women. I loved it' Caroline Lea, author of The Glass Woman
'A vivacious piece of work underpinned by a woman's longing for freedom' LoveReading
'Utterly gripping' Daisy Dunn, author of In the Shadow of Vesuvius
'Unflinching ... The best book I've read in ages' Sophie van Llewyn, author of Bottled Goods
'The best historical fiction holds a mirror up to the present and The Wolf Den is a triumph. Harper transports us thousands of years and thousands of miles and yet we see ourselves reflected there' Claire McGlasson, author of The Rapture
'A riveting tale of power, love, hate, privilege, female empowerment and female friendships found in the most unlikely situations' Buki Papillon, author of An Ordinary Wonder


Genre: Historical

Praise for this book

"A gripping tale, which celebrates female solidarity and empowerment in the face of oppression and adversity. Rich in historical detail, beauty and brutality, The Wolf Den brings to vivid life the doomed city of Pompeii and the powerlessness of its women. I loved it." - Caroline Lea

"What a book! Utterly compelling, unflinching in describing Amara's life as a slave-prostitute in Pompeii and so incredibly transporting. Best book I read in ages." - Sophie van Llewyn

"The best historical fiction holds a mirror up to the present and The Wolf Den is a triumph. Elodie Harper transports us thousands of years and thousands of miles and yet we see ourselves reflected there." - Claire McGlasson

"A riveting tale of power, love, hate, privilege, female empowerment and female friendships found in the most unlikely situations, The Wolf Den truly delivers and you will laugh and be heartbroken alongside the women nicknamed she-wolves, whose lives were deemed disposable, and their determination to find ways to escape the brothel both in body and mind. Set in a rich and prosperous Pompeii, Amara's story takes off at a brisk pace and ultimately delivers a stunning ending that left me both satisfied and very eager for the next book in the next book in this series." - Buki Papillon

"Hope and humour runs through this powerful, moving story – I loved it! Elodie portrays the brutal indignities and tragedy of these women's lives with so much warmth, sensitivity and respect. I was captivated by Amara – her strength, compassion and her determination to thrive in a cruel, unequal world. I can't wait to follow the rest of her story." - Jennifer Saint


Similar books by other authors


Hardback Editions

May 2021 : UK Hardback
thumb

Title: The Wolf Den
Author(s): Elodie Harper
ISBN: 1-83893-353-0 / 978-1-83893-353-1 (UK edition)
Publisher: Apollo
Availability: Amazon UK   


Paperback Editions

October 2021 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: The Wolf Den
Author(s): Elodie Harper
ISBN: 1-83893-355-7 / 978-1-83893-355-5 (UK edition)
Publisher: Apollo
Availability: Amazon UK   


May 2021 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: The Wolf Den
Author(s): Elodie Harper
ISBN: 1-83893-354-9 / 978-1-83893-354-8 (UK edition)
Publisher: Apollo
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


Kindle Editions

May 2021 : Australia, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Wolf Den
Author(s): Elodie Harper
Publisher: Apollo
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU