book cover of The Secrets You Hide
Added by 3 of our members

The Secrets You Hide

(2018)
A novel by

 
 
In her eyes, no-one is innocent....

Georgia Sage has a gift: she can see evil in people. As a courtroom artist she uses her skills to help condemn those who commit terrible crimes. After all, her own brutal past means she knows innocence is even rarer than justice.

But when she is drawn back into the trial that defined her career, a case of twisted family betrayal, she realises her own reckless pursuit of justice may have helped the guilty go free.

As Georgia gets closer to the truth behind the Fielding family, something happens that threatens not only her career but even her own sanity. At first, she fears her guilt around the events of her terrible childhood is finally coming back to haunt her.

The truth turns out to be even more terrifying....

The Secrets You Hide is an ambitious rocket of a novel. Every layer, every twist, every revelation makes you question the very characters you thought you could trust and rethink a plot you thought you were beginning to unravel. A knockout listen for fans of Clare Mackintosh and Anatomy of a Scandal.

Genre: Mystery

Praise for this book

"An incredible, unique and compelling novel. I tore through this book. So, so good, and I did not see the end coming! A new talent has exploded onto the crime scene." - Angela Clarke

"The Secrets You Hide is clever, twisty and chilling, with an absolutely compelling heroine." - Julie Cohen

"Terrifying and disorienting, shocking and completely original." - Miranda Dickinson

"There aren't enough adjectives to describe how much I loved The Secrets You Hide, but after careful consideration, I'll go with brilliant, original and shocking." - Caz Frear

"One of the most original characters I've come across, this debut is an absolute gripper. I predict big things for Kate Helm." - Cass Green

"Clever concept so brilliantly executed. Compelling plot but more compelling character study that left me desperate to find out why instead of who. First class psych thriller." - Araminta Hall

"Smart, absorbing and brilliantly original - The Secrets You Hide is a fantastic debut." - T M Logan

"I read the whole thing in one huge unstoppable whoosh and it was just so great, hugely original, unexpected and completely fascinating. I loved it." - Jill Mansell

"My debut of the year. Kate Helm is an exceptional story teller with a fresh, innovative, exciting approach to crime writing. The Secrets You Hide is gripping, pacy and utterly compelling. A must read! I can't wait to see what Kate writes next." - C L Taylor


Similar books by other authors


Used availability for Kate Helm's The Secrets You Hide

Paperback Editions

February 2019 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: The Secrets You Hide: If you think you know the truth, think again . . .
Author(s): Kate Helm
ISBN: 1-78576-474-8 / 978-1-78576-474-5 (UK edition)
Publisher: Zaffre
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

October 2018 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Secrets You Hide
Author(s): Kate Helm
Publisher: Zaffre
Availability: Amazon   


October 2018 : Australia Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Secrets You Hide
Author(s): Kate Helm
Publisher: Zaffre
Availability: Amazon AU   


October 2018 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Secrets You Hide
Author(s): Kate Helm
Publisher: Zaffre
Availability: Amazon UK   


Kindle Editions

October 2018 : Australia, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Secrets You Hide: If you think you know the truth, think again . . .
Author(s): Kate Helm
Publisher: Zaffre
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU