book cover of A True Account
Added by 9 members
 

A True Account

(2023)
Hannah Masury's Sojourn Amongst the Pyrates, Written by Herself
A novel by

 
 
From a New York Times-bestselling author comes this daring account of one woman's adventure among the most feared sea rovers of all time, perfect for fans of Kate Mosse and Jess Kidd

'An absolute page turner, full of unexpected twists and turns.' Celia Rees, author of Pirates!

She was one of the most terrifying seafarers of all time. This is her story.

The Golden Age of Piracy is drawing to a close when Hannah Masury watches the public hanging of the infamous William Fly in a Boston town square. Rumours about the location of Fly's buried treasure are rampant, and when Hannah finds a clue as to where it might be hidden, she decides it's time to take the future into her own hands.

Two centuries later in a dusty university archive, Professor Marian Beresford is captivated by Hannah's story and the many unanswered questions she left behind. Hannah was determined to take her secrets with her to the grave, but in Marian, she might finally have met her match.

A True Account is the page-turning story of two women from two very different worlds, both shattering the rules of their own society, both willing to risk everything to forge their own adventure.

'A feast for the sea-loving senses.' Sarah Penner, author of The Lost Apothecary


Genre: Historical

Praise for this book

"Katherine Howe has done it again. One of our most beloved writers of historical fiction returns with a superbly crafted page-turner rich with detail and featuring a brilliantly realized protagonist who will delight readers of every stripe. A True Account interlaces a suspenseful story of eighteenth-century piracy with a propulsive modern account of academic intrigue to wonderful effect. A bracing and dazzling adventure in every way." - Bruce Holsinger

"This sweeping, ambitious novel secures Katherine Howe's place as one of today's best historical fiction writers. Combining a fast-paced, rollicking 18th-century story about a female pirate and a 20th-century mystery set in academia, Howe touches on identity, ambition, history, class, and culture. Filled with unexpected twists and turns, A True Account is a wild ride. I loved this book." - Christina Baker Kline

"Hannah Masury's pirate tale reads like a fever dream, told in a voice so authentic and with such vivid, authoritative detail, it compels belief that this must indeed be a true account. A fiendish twist pulls its strands apart and braids them back together with the burnished patina of real historic discovery. Katherine Howe writes a story that she knows so truly, it must spring from her DNA. A True Account belongs on the shelf beside Treasure Island." - Peter Nichols


Visitors also looked at these books


Used availability for Katherine Howe's A True Account


About Fantastic Fiction       Information for Authors