Christina Baker Kline's picture
Followed by 8 of our members

Christina Baker Kline


UK flag

Christina Baker Kline is a novelist, nonfiction writer, and editor. Her novels include The Way Life Should Be, Desire Lines, and Sweet Water. She is co-author, with Christina L. Baker, of The Conversation Begins: Mothers and Daughters Talk about Living Feminism and editor of Child of Mine: Original Essays on Becoming a Mother; Room to Grow: 22 Writers Encounter the Pleasures and Paradoxes of Raising Young Children; and Always Too Soon: Becoming an Orphan at Any Age, also published by Seal Press. She is currently Writer in Residence at Fordham University.

Genres: Literary Fiction, Historical
 
Non fiction
thumbthumbthumbthumb
 
Christina Baker Kline recommends
thumb
So Happy Together (2009)
Maryann McFadden
"In So Happy Together, Maryann McFadden deftly weaves a story of three generations of women and the men who orbit around them. With a sure touch, she writes about the mother-daughter bond, the simple pleasures to be found in cooking, the pervasive nature of guilt, and the power of forgiveness. Ultimately she explores the ways that growth is possible at every stage in life, if only we remain open--and how unexpected changes can lead us to places we never imagined."
thumb
Her Name Is Rose (2015)
Christine Breen
"A lyrical debut with characters who live and breathe and teach each other how to love."
thumb
Whiskey & Charlie (2015)
Annabel Smith
"A sharp, perceptive novel about family and forgiveness. Whiskey & Charlie will stay with me for a very long time."
thumb
The Tumbling Turner Sisters (2016)
Juliette Fay
"Filled with energetic prose and colorful characters-you won't soon forget the Turner girls!."
thumb
Sisters One, Two, Three (2017)
Nancy Star
"An extraordinary moving, beautifully written novel... I was riveted from the first page."
thumb
What to Say Next (2017)
Julie Buxbaum
"This novel is so compulsively readable that you’ll be surprised how deeply your emotions are stirred."
thumb
Stolen Beauty (2017)
Laurie Lico Albanese
"For fans of Kristin Hannah's The Nightingale and Paula McLain's Circling the Sun, Stolen Beauty is a must-read. I tore through the pages."
thumb
The Hearts of Men (2017)
Nickolas Butler
"A wry, tender-hearted novel about men: their families and friendships, their vulnerabilities and foibles, their secrets and lies. Part coming-of-age narrative, part meditation on masculinity, part war story, this novel had me spellbound all the way to its riveting conclusion."
thumb
Grit (2017)
Gillian French
"Touching, funny, and wise, Grit takes you on a journey you’ll remember long after turning the last page."
thumb
A Matter of Chance (2018)
Julie Maloney
"Beautiful and sensitive...effortlessly readable."
thumb
Ecstasy (2018)
Mary Sharratt
"Terrific…An intimate, absorbing portrait of a complicated woman whose talents and passions propelled her to the center of fin de siècle Vienna."
thumb
The Last Cruise (2018)
Kate Christensen
"From the first page of The Last Cruise, it’s clear that you’re in the hands of a masterful storyteller. With wit and precision, Kate Christensen wrangles a large cast of characters on a cruise in Hawaii that undergoes a disastrous series of calamites, deftly turning what appears to be a comedy of manners into an intimate and moving story about how human beings relate to each other in times of stress and upheaval – with plenty of sensuous details about food, sex, and drink along the way. This novel is a delight."
thumb
Tiffany Blues (2018)
M J Rose
"Fascinating…an enchanting glimpse of Jazz Age New York."
thumb
Daughter of a Daughter of a Queen (2018)
Sarah Bird
"An epic page-turner, Daughter of a Daughter of aQueen is the real-life story of the feisty and fearless Cathy Williams,the first woman to serve in the U.S. military. Weaving fact and fiction, Sarah Bird dances between humor and heartbreak as she takes this American heroinefrom forgotten to unforgettable."
thumb
A Well Behaved Woman (2018)
Therese Anne Fowler
"History comes alive in this immensely readable novel. Therese Anne Fowler takes us behind the velvet drapes of the Vanderbilt mansions in the late 19th century, exposing a world of passions and betrayal in which all is not as it seems. A Well-Behaved Woman is an extraordinary portrait of a strong, fascinating woman who rose above societal convention and even her own expectations to become so much more than anyone might have predicted."

Visitors to this page also looked at these authors