book cover of The Gypsy Bride
Added by 11 of our members

The Gypsy Bride

(2020)
A novel by

 
 
A moving and tragic cross-cultural love story for readers of Dilly Court and Kitty Neale.

Oxfordshire, 1917

Ellen is growing up in the Oxfordshire countryside. The granddaughter of a Methodist preacher and intending to marry Charlie, a boy from the local village, Ellen's life is mapped out for her.

When Charlie is killed on the battlefields of the First World War, Ellen is left heart-broken and lost. But then she meets Sam Loveridge. Mysterious and unruly, Sam is from a local Gypsy community, and unlike anyone Ellen has ever met before. Before she knows what's hit her, Ellen is swept off her feet and shown a world of passion, excitement - and true love.

But the conservative world that Ellen is from can't possibly understand or approve of their relationship, and Ellen and Sam are torn apart. Is their love strong enough overcome their cultural distances, or will the hostility and prejudice they face destroy their chance at happiness?

The Gypsy Bride is a dramatic new saga for readers of A Village Scandal.

- - - - -

'The history is meticulous and fascinating and the character of Sam Loveridge is absolutely captivating - I can still hear his voice perfectly, months after finishing.' Julie Cohen, bestselling author of The Two Lives of Louis and Louise

'A family saga that had me hooked from the first page.' Lynn Johnson, author of The Girl from the Workhouse

'A richly evoked, completely involving story of love, loss and redemption. So satisfying.' Elizabeth Woodcraft, author of The Saturday Girls and The Girls from Greenway

'Katie Hutton transports you to a forgotten England in this poignant story of star-crossed lovers. A triumph!' Catherine Kullman, author of The Gracechurch Trilogy

'A moving love story, brilliantly depicting the dynamic between settled communities and gypsies.' Patricia O'Reilly, author of The First Rose of Tralee

'An enthralling and well-researched saga.' Lancashire Evening Post

'The characters and storyline were fantastic.' Netgalley reviewer

'A powerful saga full of tragedy and such sadness.' Netgalley reviewer

Genre: Sagas

Praise for this book

"The history is meticulous and fascinating and the character of Sam Loveridge is absolutely captivating - I can still hear his voice perfectly, months after finishing." - Julie Cohen

"A moving love story, brilliantly depicting the dynamic between settled communities and gypsies." - Patricia O'Reilly

"A richly evoked, completely involving story of love, loss and redemption. So satisfying." - Elizabeth Woodcraft


Similar books by other authors


Used availability for Katie Hutton's The Gypsy Bride

Paperback Editions

June 2020 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: The Gypsy Bride: An emotional cross-cultural family saga
Author(s): Katie Hutton
ISBN: 1-83877-025-9 / 978-1-83877-025-9 (UK edition)
Publisher: Zaffre
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

May 2020 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Gypsy Bride
Author(s): Katie Hutton
Publisher: Zaffre
Availability: Amazon   


May 2020 : Australia Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Gypsy Bride
Author(s): Katie Hutton
Publisher: Zaffre
Availability: Amazon AU   


May 2020 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Gypsy Bride
Author(s): Katie Hutton
Publisher: Zaffre
Availability: Amazon CA   


May 2020 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Gypsy Bride
Author(s): Katie Hutton
Publisher: Zaffre
Availability: Amazon UK   


Kindle Editions

May 2020 : USA, Australia, Canada, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Gypsy Bride: An emotional cross-cultural family saga
Author(s): Katie Hutton
Publisher: Zaffre
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU