Richard Hough's picture

Richard Hough

(Richard Alexander Hough)
UK flag (1922 - 1999)

aka Bruce Carter

Richard Alexander Hough was a British author and historian specializing in naval history. As a child, he was obsessed with making model warships and collecting information about navies around the world. In 1941, he joined the Royal Air Force and trained at a flying school near Los Angeles. He flew Hurricanes and Typhoons and was wounded in action.

After World War II, Hough worked as a part-time delivery driver for a wine shop, while looking for employment involving books. He finally joined the publishing house Bodley Head, and then Hamish Hamilton, where he eventually headed the children’s book division.

His work as a publisher inspired him to turn to writing himself in 1950, and he went on to write more than ninety books over a long and successful career. Best-known for his works of naval history and his biographies, he also wrote war novels and books for children (under the pseudonym Bruce Carter), all of which sold in huge numbers around the world. His works include The Longest Battle: The War at Sea 1939-45, Naval Battles of the Twentieth Century and best-selling biographies of Earl Mountbatten of Burma and Captain James Cook. Captain Bligh and Mr Christian, his 1972 account of the mutiny on the Bounty, was the basis of the 1984 film The Bounty, starring Anthony Hopkins and Mel Gibson.

Hough was the official historian of the Mountbatten family and a longtime student of Churchill. Winston Churchill figures prominently in nine of his books, including Former Naval Person: Churchill and the Wars at Sea. He won the Daily Express Best Book of the Sea Award in 1972.

Genres: Thriller
   Into a Strange Lost World (1952) (as by Bruce Carter)
     aka The Perilous Descent into a Strange Lost World
   Speed Six! (1953) (as by Bruce Carter)
   The Kidnapping of Kensington (1958) (as by Bruce Carter)
     aka The Children Who Stayed Behind
   Four Wheel Drift (1959) (as by Bruce Carter)
   B Flight (1970) (as by Bruce Carter)
   The Deadly Freeze (1976) (as by Bruce Carter)
   Buzzbugs (1977) (as by Bruce Carter)
   Miaow (1978) (as by Bruce Carter)
   Angels One-five (1978)
     aka Wings Against the Sky
   The Fight to the Finish (1979)
     aka Wings of Victory
   The Fight of the Few (1979)
     aka The Raging Sky
   Razor Eyes (1981) (as by Bruce Carter)
   Nightworld (1987) (as by Bruce Carter)
thumbno image availablethumbno image available
no image availablethumbthumbno image available
thumbthumbthumbno image available
no image available